Director: Ralph Bakshi Cast: Barry White, Charles Gordone, Scatman Crothers

DVD (Remastered)

$14.18 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.18, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.



Fritz the Cat and Heavy Traffic helmer Ralph Bakshi subsequently directed the über-controversial animated feature Coonskin (aka Streetfight, 1975). Bakshi opens and closes the film with a live-action tale that stars Scatman Crothers, Miami Vice's Philip Michael Thomas, Charles Gordone, and Barry White; it recounts the adventures of three African-American men who escape from prison and are later gathered up. In between, an animated tale has animal characters with stereotypically black traits -- Brother Rabbit (voiced by Thomas), Brother Fox (voiced by Gordone), and Brother Bear (voiced by White) -- entering a white-dominated ghetto environment and diverging into different paths; one becomes a crime overlord, the second sells the first out to La Cosa Nostra, and the third establishes himself as a media-exploited sports icon. Completely misread as a racist work upon release, the film actually entails Bakshi's satirical excoriation of bigotry via the tongue-in-cheek use of black urban stereotypes. The director laces the film with profane ghetto dialogue and street slang; though animated, this is not a picture for children. Variety wrote of the work, "Beyond Bakshi's cinematic style, his stories seem haunted by a worldliness that is torn between cynicism and tortured humanism. There is heart in his plots, so superficial putdown is totally absent. What is present [is] the evidently sincere empathy of a social surgeon." The legendary Albert S. Ruddy (The Godfather, Cloud Nine) produced.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/13/2012
UPC: 0000799817728
Original Release: 1975
Rating: R
Source: Xenon
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 15,527

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Coonskin
1. Preaching a Sermon [7:05]
2. Planning the Jailbreak [7:56]
3. Arrive In Harlem [5:18]
4. Black Revolution [7:46]
5. Fighting Miss America [5:21]
6. Simple Savior's Funeral [8:07]
7. Hunting Rabbit [6:05]
8. Enter the Godfather [7:41]
9. Bear Gets Hit [7:53]
10. Godfather's Dance [6:25]
11. Boxed Bear [7:02]
12. Tar Baby Rabbit [5:56]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews