Shakespeare Wallah

Shakespeare Wallah

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

$20.70 $25.99 Save 20% Current price is $20.7, Original price is $25.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, April 30 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Shakespeare Wallah

Lizzie (Felicity Kendal) is an actress in a Shakespearean theater troupe that has seen better days. The troupe tours India to dwindling crowds who are less interested in all things British in the wake of Indian independence. When she has an affair with the Indian playboy Sanju (Shashi Kapoor), Lizzie feels the wrath of her disapproving father Tony (Geoffrey Kendal) and her mother Carla (Laura Liddell). Madhur Jaffrey plays the role of the Indian actress Manjula in this romantic drama with musical score from Satyajit Ray.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/03/2018
UPC: 0741952842590
Original Release: 1965
Rating: NR
Source: Momentum
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 2:02:00
Sales rank: 20,105

Special Features

Conversation with the filmmakers, featuring Ismail Merchant, James Ivory, Shashi Kapoor, and Felicity Kendal Original Trailer 2017 re-release trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Shashi Kapoor Sanju
Felicity Kendal LIzzie Buckingham
Geoffrey Kendal Mr. Tony Buckingham
Laura Liddell Mrs. Carla Buckingham
Madhur Jaffrey Manjula
Jennifer Kapoor Mrs. Bowen
Partap Sharma Aslam
Praveen Paul Didi
Utpal Dutt Maharaja
Pincho Kapoor Guptaji
Prayag Raaj Sharmaji
Jim D. Tytler Bobby

Technical Credits
James Ivory Director,Original Story,Screenwriter
Amit Bose Editor
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Original Story,Screenwriter
Ismail Merchant Producer
Subrata Mitra Cinematographer
Satyajit Ray Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Shakespeare Wallah
1. Poetry and Wisdom [12:14]
2. Car Trouble [8:43]
3. Romeo And The English Girl [9:33]
4. Miss Manjula [9:12]
5. Flowers In Her Hair [10:19]
6. Not Like The Old Days [10:26]
7. The Kiss [10:02]
8. Friendly Competition [10:07]
9. A Place To Belong [6:21]
10. No Shame [3:26]
11. Only An Actress [9:38]
12. My Honor [9:47]
13. Chapter 13 [12:19]
1. Chapter 1 [47:26]
2. Chapter 2 [:01]
1. Chapter 1 [24:11]
2. Chapter 2 [:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews