Echo of Glory: An Irish Legends Novel

Echo of Glory: An Irish Legends Novel

by Martina Boone
4.0 2

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Echo of Glory: An Irish Legends Novel by Martina Boone

Where Bantry Bay in Ireland meets the wild Atlantic, three lost souls united by their brokenness begin to heal each other. A magical tapestry of romance, history, legend, family, and the complex role of strong women that was as hard to pigeonhole in Elizabethan England and the Viking enclaves in Ireland as it is today. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley, Nora Roberts, Mary Stewart, Maeve Binchy, and Susan Wiggs.
After a disastrous relationship with her boss, television anchor Meg Cameron leaves her job with two bad options. Leave and stay silent? Or speak up and ruin her career? But a trip to an archeological dig with her mother brings up ghosts both from her childhood and from the bloody past of beautiful Beara Peninsula and the O'Sullivan massacre in the last gasp of Elizabeth I's "pacification" of Ireland.
Niall Sullivan has spent years chasing the truth of what happened to his family in 1602. But he never expected to have to bring his newly orphaned nephew, Adam, with him to excavate on Dursey Island--without internet or television or even reliable cell phone coverage. Still, time alone together in the abandoned village could be exactly what the two of them need to build the foundations of a family. Until Meg Cameron comes along.
Meg and her developing relationship with Niall brings out both the best and the worst in Adam. And as danger comes from unexpected sources, they all have choices to make. Life and death choices none of them expected.

★★★★★ PRAISE FOR LAKE OF DESTINY ★★★★★
"Delightful, charming, and heartwarming!" -- New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins

"I loved this!!! It reminds me of a Nora Roberts series, The Gallaghers of Ardmore . . . but a Scottish version with men in kilts!" -- Two Chicks on Books

"Outlander-Lite Meets Gilmore Girls in Scotland. This is a story that sucked me in from the start and didn't let go until I'd laughed, shed a few tears and worked up an appetite. Fast. Fun. Romantic. Read it!" -- Jenuine Cupcakes

"Endearing and alluring! Modern day mixed with history, truth, folklore, and just the right touch of the blarney! -- Thoughts on Your Words

"So much charm it's magical!" -- BookGeek

★★★★★ PRAISE FOR COMPULSION ★★★★★

"Skillfully blends rich magic and folklore with adventure, sweeping romance, and hidden treasure . . . Impressive." -- Publisher's Weekly

"Eight Beaufort is so swoon-worthy that it s ridiculous." RT Book Reviews, RT Editors Best Books of the Year

"Darkly romantic and steeped in Southern Gothic charm, you ll be compelled to get lost in the Heirs of Watson Island series." -- #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout
"The perfect Southern family saga: charming and steamy on the surface, with cold-blooded secrets buried down deep." -- Kendare Blake, -- New York Times bestselling author

"Haunting, atmospheric, and absorbing." -- Claudia Gray, New York Times bestselling author

"Beautifully written, with vivid characters, a generations-old feud, and romance that leaps off the page. Not to be missed." -- Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author

★★★★★ MARTINA BOONE'S CELTIC LEGENDS COLLECTION ★★★★★
The novels of the Celtic Legends collection are suspenseful, heartwarming, uplifting and thoughtful stand-alone contemporary love stories set in Scotland, Cornwall, Ireland, and Wales with a bit of history, legend, and magic woven through them. They can be read in any order, although side characters from previous books are sometimes mentioned.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940155234548
Publisher: Mayfair Publishing
Publication date: 04/27/2018
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 188,435
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Martina Boone was born in Prague and spoke several languages before learning English. She’s the award-winning author of the romantic southern gothic Heirs of Watson Island young adult series, including Compulsion, Persuasion, and Illusion, from Simon & Schuster, Simon Pulse. She’s also the founder of AdventuresInYAPublishing.com, a three-time Writer’s Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers Site, and YASeriesInsiders.com, a site dedicated to encouraging literacy and reader engagement through a celebration of series literature. She’s on the Board of the Literacy Council of Northern Virginia and runs the CompulsionForReading.com program to distribute books to underfunded schools and libraries. She lives with her husband, children, and a lopsided cat, she enjoys writing contemporary fantasy set in the kinds of magical places she’d love to visit. When she isn’t writing, she’s addicted to travel, horses, skiing, chocolate flavored tea, and anything with Nutella on it.

Table of Contents

Accident

Blank Stares

Determination

Rebellion

Explosion

Bean Sidhe

Bloody Ground

Wraiths

Sliver of Hope

Music

Longing

Terrible Beauty

Black Sky

Hostage

Justification

Ruins

The Bonnie Prince

Echoes

Admissions

Revisions

Illumination

Empty Fields

Damp Skin

Swords

Imagination

Absolution

Burial

Wisdom

Electricity

Thank You for Reading

Author’s Note

Praise for Lake of Destiny

Praise for Compulsion

Acknowledgments

About Martina Boone

Copyright

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Echo of Glory: An Irish Legends Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
HeyerF4n 3 months ago
Irish Legends. A rich tapestry of a book weaving Irish history and folklore into the present day via the medium of an archaeological dig on Dursey. The author has a vivid way with words and the reader can almost see both the events of the past and the evocative present day Dursey. The characters are dealing with complex emotional issues in their personal lives; Meg with betrayal and lies from two important people in her life and Niall with the shock, guilt and grief of his twin’s abrupt death and his acquisition of a troubled teenaged nephew. The book was a smooth read with the final chapters being totally gripping. There is not a strong romance in this story (too many other things going on) but you can see that the friendship between Niall and Meg could develop that way. I was a bit disappointed that the epilogue did not include Ruben getting his comeuppance. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
thicks 4 months ago
This author definitely knows her Irish lore and this time we get it while at a dig site. When a life altering accident happens it forces changes and emotions he isn't ready for. Along with his personal problems he also has to deal with issues on the dig site. With all of this going on it's amazing he finds a way to meet and fall in love with someone who is dealing with her own life changes but sees the pain and offers the love that is desperately needed in the midst of turmoil. Great read and like this author is loved for with the details and information provided to blend the past with the present. This author also does a brilliant job of interweaving some mystery and murder which means mayhem.