Even If the Sky Falls

Even If the Sky Falls

by Mia Garcia

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Even If the Sky Falls by Mia Garcia

One midsummer night. Two strangers. Three rules: No real names. No baggage. No phones. A whirlwind twenty-four-hour romance about discovering what it means to feel alive in the face of one of life’s greatest dangers: love.

Who would you be if you had one night to be anyone you want?

Volunteering in New Orleans was supposed to be a change, an escape from the total mess Julie left at home and from her brother’s losing battle with PTSD. But building houses surrounded by her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions has Julie feeling more trapped than ever. And she’s had enough.

In a moment of daring, Julie runs away, straight into the glitter, costumes, and chaos of the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras parade—and instantly connects with Miles, an utterly irresistible musician with a captivating smile and a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. Together Julie and Miles decide to forget their problems and live this one night in the here and now. Wandering the night, they dance on roofs, indulge in beignets, share secrets and ghost stories under the stars, and fall in love. But when a Category Two hurricane changes course and heads straight for NOLA, their adventure takes an unexpected turn. And, suddenly, pretending everything is fine is no longer an option.

Richly evocative to the heart-racing end, Even If the Sky Falls is a swoon-worthy debut to indulge in to the very last note.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062411808
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/10/2016
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 1,250,406
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 760L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Mia García was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico, but now lives in New York under a pile of to-be-read books. Mia earned her MFA from the New School. You can find her at www.mgarciabooks.com or on Twitter @MGarciaWrites.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Even If the Sky Falls 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though the plot can be a bit confusing it's a great book to read. It really shows what one special night can do to a person without being overrated.
tayberryjelly More than 1 year ago
Escapism can be a handy trick for those who want to temporarily get away from a bad situation or for those who merely need a change of scenery, often to a place glamorous, exciting and maybe even a little dangerous. Julie, the protagonist of Mia García’s debut novel Even If the Sky Falls, needs both. While on a church-sponsored community service trip to New Orleans, Julie slips away one night into the heart of the city, only to find herself thrown into the glittery midst of Mid-Summer Mardi Gras. When she meets a boy with electric blue hair that she feels an immediate spark with, Julie takes a chance to escape from the storm of her personal life. However, she soon finds herself in the path of a very different kind of storm. Gorgeously and lyrically written with a distinct voice, García’s debut is a whirlwind of a story, one of grief, escape and growth. Julie’s struggles with a brother suffering from PTSD following a military tour overseas and the isolation she feels at home jump off the page. So do her adventures with Miles and the rest of the boys in New Orleans, from late-night beignet binges to impromptu ghost tours. The most developed character in the novel was its setting: the vibrant, mystical, complicated city of New Orleans. Each scene and description of the city was handled with strong, rich descriptions that made the action of the place come alive. The scenes that took place in the heart of New Orleans were also the heart of this book. However, for the people that populated this setting, the level of development varied in success. García’s does feature a diverse cast, though, adding to the richness of the novel. Julie’s arc felt mostly complete, albeit rushed due to the idea of her having one night to get away. The novel leaves unanswered questions about many of the other characters, especially Miles and his friends, and even Tavis, the touchy-feely leader of Julie’s church service group. Just a few more lines of dialogue or a few more lines of description would have went a long way in elevating the characters to the same level of detail as the setting. The characters were strong and likable, but they left me wanting that little extra push to great. Another part of this well-written and emotionally spot-on book that left me wanting more were the frequent flashbacks to Julie’s past. Some felt too long, others too short and a few just right. It should be noted, however, that overall, García’s novel was well paced. The last fifty of pages or so felt rushed to a hasty conclusion, but other than that, the novel flowed flawlessly. While the scenes from Julie’s past came together to form an overall picture in the end, they had a hard time getting there and sometimes felt at odds with the present storyline. A little more clarity and build-up earlier on was needed to balance out some of the later, heavier past scenes, which were, however, rendered with extreme honesty, sincerity and care. The songs that were scattered throughout the novel also felt out of place. It was unclear how they related to the present or if they were Miles’ or someone else’s. They were well written, but some kind of marker or indication might have helped them slip better into the story. Overall, García’s novel is a great read and she's an author with a great style to watch out for in the future. For those who frequent New Orleans to those who are stranger to the city, the book is an adventure. Julie’s story is one worth reading, and I highly recommend it
Laura_at_125Pages More than 1 year ago
I wanted to read Even if the Sky Falls as first glance. I have mentioned before that I am a cover judger and this one is so very pretty! Then I read the synopsis and was hooked. A YA romance, but with a very unique setup. Two kids wanting to escape for a little bit and just be free. They decide for one night to live with no names, no back stories, and no promises. As Julie and Miles explore New Orleans they face more than just upset parents when a massive storm rolls in and threatens all that they have. I was hoping that this was not going to be another disappointment as my last YA romance read with a fantastic cover was lackluster. But, yay! Mia Garcia crafted a read that I really enjoyed and the pretty cover was just a bonus. I enjoyed the plot of Even if the Sky Falls. It was a unique look at an insta-love story that did not make me cringe. Everything made sense in the scope of the story and Julie was not “fixed” by meeting Miles. There was one tiny plot point with Julie and a hometown boy that was unneeded in the whole but it did not detract from my overall enjoyment. The writing of Mia Garcia was a pleasant surprise. She was able to combine a very diverse cast in a way where it was not screaming I’m different, it was just a part of the tale. She crafted a detailed story that really showcased the city as a character in its own right. Speaking of that, the world built was shiny and bright. The city of New Orleans was an impressive backdrop and the detail incorporated was impressive. The pacing was rapid as the main storyline takes place over one night. There were a few bumps in the timeline of the flashbacks, but not enough to damage the story. There were plenty of emotions throughout. Even though this was an instant attraction/love story, I found the emotional arc to be surprisingly complex and am glad the author used such a broad brush. The characters were, for the most part, great. I did really dislike the hometown and found his entire storyline to be a distraction to the whole. However, Julie and Miles were such strong characters that they were able to overshadow that whole useless bit well. As I mentioned before, there was a great deal of diversity in the cast and I loved that it felt so natural. Even if the Sky Falls was a success. I often find YA romances to be too sappy sweet or too annoying. In my advanced age, I have become jaded and even though I know it is fiction still can’t get over my insta-love hate. But Mia Garcia did such a phenomenal job in crafting a tale that was an actually believable YA love story that I couldn’t help but like it. The cast was enjoyable, the tale was able to flip between vastly different emotions quickly and the majority of the characters’ actions made sense in the context of the story. Mia Garcia has thoroughly impressed me with her debut and I cannot wait to see what she has in store for her next book. I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I loved the premise of this book. I was excited for the promise of a swoony boy and leaving problems behind for a 24 hour slice of time. Right off the bat, I struggled with the back and forth of the chapters. At first didn't realize that it was supposed to be a time shift. There isn't a heading indicating anything and I'm guessing it's supposed to like Julia is rehashing the past in her mind, for me it didn't work. As for Julia, she was a bit meh. I didn't have a reason to root for her. The issues she has {which took way way way to long to be revealed} are horrible, but I didn't get the importance of them. I didn't feel it. Miles is okay, but definitely not was I was expecting. I kept reading because I was expecting something epic to happen. The city they're in, the circumstances, the history, it's all so amazing. Sadly, the story failed to carry that spark over. **Huge thanks to Katherine Tegen Books and Edelweiss for providing the arc in exchange for an honest review**
Cupcakegirly More than 1 year ago
*Brb, caught up in a hurricane of emotion and I'm not ready to come back down yet.* Sometimes a book sneaks up on you, kicks you in the feels and steals your heart all while making you laugh and swoon. That's what this book did to me. When I picked it up at 11:00 last night, I only expected to read a few pages. By 1:30a.m., I had to force myself to put it down. Because sleep. And kids. And life. When I picked it back up again today, I didn't stop until I reached the end. Then, I wanted to go back to the beginning and start all over again. I've never visited New Orleans, but Mia Garcia made me feel as though I was a character in the story, watching from the sidelines, covered in glitter and stuffing my face full of beignets. And Miles...Oh.My.Miles. Charismatic, witty, charming, and almost too cute for his own good, Miles is the kind of boy who makes you believe in love at first sight. He's sweet too, with a genuineness about him that makes it easy to see how Julie could get swept up into an adventure with him, even if only for a night. This book delivers a hearty kick in the feels; Julie and Miles are both dealing with issues, but Mia Garcia does a great job of weaving romance and humor into their story. It left me with a feeling of hope, new discoveries, and healing. Adventure. Romance. Diversity. Swoon. This book has a little of everything. Fans of Paula Stokes, Sarah Dessen, and Gayle Foreman will enjoy this. Read it.