Every Fixed Star

Every Fixed Star

by Jane Kirkpatrick
5.0 3

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Every Fixed Star by Jane Kirkpatrick

Continuing the Tender Ties Historical Series, Every Fixed Star brings readers more of the dramatic, fictionalized account of Marie Dorion: the real-life woman who was the first mother to cross the Rocky Mountains and remain in the Northwest. In Book Two of the series, Marie learns the value of a tender heart, the faith of distant friends, and the act of holding life’s circumstances in open hands.

Following the family tragedy, the great battle for survival, and the test of faith described in A Name of Her Own, Marie relocates her family to the Pacific Northwest territory’s Okanogan settlement. The year is 1814 and, as is customary of her life out West, Marie faces constant challenges simply to keep her children clothed and fed.

Yet inside each challenge awaits a gift to be unwrapped. Countless times, Marie has proven herself a survivor. Incredibly, she must now endure further realizations of a woman’s fears: an abrupt ending to love, distance from friends, the disappearance of one child, the consequences of another’s poor choices.

Through it all, Marie is tempted to believe that she doesn’t deserve God’s love in the everyday places. When blessings arrive, she struggles to accept them, fearing they will be followed by more difficult challenges. But ultimately, the threads of past friendships and their prayers, a faithful love, and her own service to others all lead her to God’s gift of a full and abundant life.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307568786
Publisher: The Crown Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/30/2009
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 491,108
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Jane Kirkpatrick is the best-selling author of three non-fiction books, including A Simple Gift of Comfort, and eight novels, including the award-winning A Sweetness to the Soul, the acclaimed Kinship and Courage series: All Together in One Place, No Eye Can See, and What Once We Loved, and the best-selling first book in the Tender Ties historical series, A Name of Her Own. She and her husband Jerry ranch 160 acres in Eastern Oregon.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Every Fixed Star 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad I have Book Three of this great series. This is a wonderful book. This is based on a true story. This focuses more on her faith and on working for the Hudson Bay company and as a free agent. Highly recommended! Make sure you read Book One in the series. This book and series deserves an A++++++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jane Kirkpatrick writes her books so that you feel like you are there in the book with the characters! I love this series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though I am only 12, I enjoyed this book. I can't wait to finish the third book in this series, Hold Tight the Thread. I got all three books at the same time. My family used to live in Oregon and my mom met Jane and her husband, Jerry. My mom got to talk with them (mostly Jerry) and got the books signed by Jane. This book is about a mother who struggles to keep her family together. When she was just a girl, her mother and sister died. Then she married Pierre Dorion, who beats her when he's drunk. She has two boys with him. They head overland to Astoria and Marie has a baby girl, who dies. Then Pierre dies. Then she marries Louis Venier. She has a daughter with him. Then Louis dies. Her son, Paul, runs away. Her son Baptiste gets a girl, Older Sister, pregnant. They marry. Older Sister has the baby, Little Marie, but dies after the baby is born. Then Marie marries Jean Toupin. They have a son and daughter together. Then Baptiste marries Older Sister's younger sister, Josette. They have several children. Then Little Marie dies. This is the second book in this series. Read book 1 first. Then to find out how Marie's stry ends, read book 3.