Everything We Never Said

Everything We Never Said

Unabridged — 9 hours, 14 minutes

Everything We Never Said

Everything We Never Said

Unabridged — 9 hours, 14 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$25.00
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $25.00

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Calling all fans of Mercedes Ron and Jandy Nelson — we have the next addition to your #TBR. This is a story of love, friendship and betrayal... and the realization that our loved ones aren't always who they seem.

Dark romance, high stakes, and plot twists abound in this YA thriller that's perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover.

What you don't know can hurt you....

It's been months since the accident that killed Ella's best friend, Hayley, and Ella can't stop blaming herself. Now Ella is back at school, and everywhere she looks are reminders of her best friend-including Sawyer, Hayley's boyfriend. Little by little, they grow closer, until Ella realizes something horrifying . . .*

She's in love with her dead best friend's boyfriend.*

Racked with guilt, Ella turns to Hayley's journal, hoping she'll find something in the pages that will make her feel better about what's happening. Instead, she discovers that Sawyer has secrets of his own and that his relationship with Hayley wasn't as picture-perfect as it seemed.*

Ella knows she should stay away but finds herself inextricably drawn to him-and scared of everything she never knew about him. Perhaps it's his grief. Or maybe his desires, cut short by tragedy. Or could it be something twisted only Hayley knew about?*

A dark, romantic thriller perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover and Laura Nowlin, Everything We Never Said explores the secrets in even the best of friendships and asks how well you ever know the ones you love.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"The author delivers a psychological thriller that leaves her audience guessing until the last page." —SLJ
 
"In a debut blending a thrilling mystery with a hint of dark romance, Harlow thoughtfully depicts complex emotions such as grief, depression, love, guilt, and more without losing sight of the twisty plot." —Booklist

"A dark and romantic thriller for those who love sexy suspense." —Kirkus

School Library Journal

05/01/2024

Gr 10 Up—In her debut, Harlow explores friendships and dark secrets. Ella blames herself for the death of her best friend, Hayley. She was the one driving when Hayley was thrown out of the windshield in a car crash. The only problem is, Ella can't remember anything about the accident. It's been months since the crash, and now Ella must return to school for her senior year. There she finds herself attracted to Hayley's boyfriend, Sawyer, but her guilt from the accident makes her hesitate to get involved. How can she cheat on her best friend, even though she is dead? As Ella becomes closer to Sawyer, she seeks to find out more about the night her best friend died. With the help of Hayley's diary, she discovers there was much more going on than she ever realized. Could Sawyer have been physically abusing her best friend? Or was someone else involved? She seeks help from her school counselor but soon realizes she might be in danger. The author delivers a psychological thriller that leaves her audience guessing until the last page. VERDICT A dark romantic thriller with a surprise plot twist, this is a welcome addition to collections for mature teens, due to sexually explicit scenes.—Nancy Hawkins

Kirkus Reviews

2024-03-23
Ella Graham begins her senior year at North Davis High in a waking nightmare.

She’s trying to get by without best friend Hayley Miller, who died in a car accident last spring. Ella is besieged by not only grief but also guilt—she was the one driving drunk when their car hit a boulder above a rushing river, though she remembers nothing. Placed in a support group run by school psychologist Mr. Wilkens, Ella must confront fellow attendee Sawyer Hawkins—Hayley’s boyfriend, whom she’s sure blames her—as well as her growing feelings for him. As their relationship blooms, Ella’s guilt intensifies. When she helps Hayley’s mother with the painful task of cleaning out her late daughter’s bedroom, Ella discovers Hayley’s diary, and from its contents, she learns much more about her friend than she ever imagined. Harlow’s debut is full of angst, and readers will be enticed to tear through the novel, which contains surprising twists and quickens in pace toward the end. Ella’s grief and survivor’s guilt are palpable, permeating every page. Ella and Sawyer’s relationship is both fraught and steamy, and romance fans will enjoy the intrigue of their unfolding relationship; their alternating points of view provide glimpses into both their psyches. Ella’s mom is Filipina (her dad’s ethnicity is not mentioned); most other major characters read white.

A dark and romantic thriller for those who love sexy suspense. (resources) (Thriller. 14-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940159525895
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Publication date: 05/28/2024
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 200,391

Read an Excerpt

Walking back into the halls of North Davis High, I feel like I’m not returning as Ella, but as Shadow Ella, the living ghost girl. The thought feels like a paper cut on my heart. I wish I were a ghost. Maybe then I could stretch across the realms and actually still talk to Hayley. Tell her the important things.
Like the fact that Albert Wonsky now has her locker. She’d groan and say something like Please, please rescue my pictures of Pedro Pascal before my husband is drowned in anime porn, and I would laugh and tell her, Sorry, too late.
I’d tell her the dent is still there. The one from when I kicked a locker after getting a B in Latin. And so is the dent she kicked right next to it. “For plausible deniability,” she had said. “Not what that means,” I’d said back.
I’d tell her there’s still pink birthday candle wax smeared in the alcove by the music room. The one where Sawyer Hawkins and I had crouched, grinning madly as we jumped out with balloons and a lit cupcake to scream, “Happy birthday!”
Sawyer.
His name feels like a fist twisting my stomach. I can’t think about him today. It’s already too much. If I do, my rib cage will crack all over again.
Which is why this is the exact moment Sawyer walks into view. There he is, at the end of the hall, towering above Mike Lim as they discuss something that has Sawyer’s handsome face breaking out into a crooked grin.
It hits me so hard, I have to stop walking. I lean against a wall and clutch my books so tightly that the words calculus i will probably be embossed into my sternum for days.
As if he can sense my presence, Sawyer suddenly glances in my direction. I stop breathing. For the first time since the funeral, I’m seeing Sawyer’s soft brown eyes.
Except there’s nothing soft about the look he’s giving me.
Sawyer, the only boy I’ve ever known to celebrate month anniversaries with tiny, perfect gifts, who happily supplied us with popcorn and Sprite throughout an entire Twilight marathon when Hayley felt sick, who loved my best friend as much as I ­did. . .
That Sawyer is currently shooting me a look of such fury that I instantly feel like puking.
I knew it. He blames me.
I should hold his gaze. I should let his judgment sear me. It’s what I deserve, for what I stole from him. From her.
But instead, I whirl around, swallowing a sob, ready to sprint down the hall, out of school, maybe forever. But I end up slamming directly into Mr. Wilkens.
Oof! Easy, there, tiger!” The school psychologist stumbles back, his hands shooting out to grasp my shoulders and keep me from falling.
“God, I’m so sorry,” I choke out, mortified.
“No, no, Ella, you’re fine. I’m fine.” He ducks his chin, trying to catch my eye. “Hey. Hey. I’m glad we bumped into each other. How are you?”
I shrug, not trusting my voice.
“That well, huh?” Mr. Wilkens is usually clean shaven, but he has some scruff along his jaw. His typically bright blue eyes look smudged today, the color of bruises. Maybe he’s one of those counselors who actually cares about his students. Maybe he’s sad this morning too.
It’s a nice thought.
“Ella,” he says, “I know today is hard. And I hope you know I’m here for you.” He looks like he wants to say more, but the bell rings, interrupting his thought. “Ah, saved by the bell.” He laughs. “Don’t be late to class. We’ll talk soon, okay?”
He watches me walk away, concern furrowing his brow. It’s so kind, how he’s worried. How he wants to help. Don’t bother, Mr. Wilkens, I should tell him. Save your effort and time for students who aren’t lost causes. Students who deserve it.
Students who didn’t kill their best friends.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews