Evolution of the Word: The New Testament in the Order the Books Were Written

Evolution of the Word: The New Testament in the Order the Books Were Written

by Marcus J. Borg


$26.99 $29.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27


By presenting the New Testament books in the order they were written, bestselling Bible scholar Marcus Borg reveals how spiritually and politically radical the early Jesus movement began and how it slowly became domesticated. Evolution of the Word is an incredible value: not only are readers getting a deeply insightful new book from the author of Speaking Christian and Jesus, but also the full-text of the New Testament—and one of the only Bibles organized in chronological order and including explanatory annotations that give readers a more informed understanding of the Scripture that is so close to their hearts and lives.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062082107
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/28/2012
Pages: 608
Sales rank: 643,361
Product dimensions: 6.38(w) x 9.24(h) x 1.26(d)

About the Author

Marcus J. Borg is Canon Theologian at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral in Portland, Oregon. He was Hundere Chair of Religion and Culture at Oregon State University until his retirement in 2007. Borg is the author of nineteen books, including the bestselling The Heart of Christianity, Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time, Reading the Bible Again for the First Time, and the novel Putting Away Childish Things. He was an active member of the Jesus Seminar when it focused on the historical Jesus, and he has been chair of the Historical Jesus section of the Society of Biblical Literature.

Table of Contents

Foreword Bishop Lowell Erdahl vii

1 A Chronological New Testament 1

2 Before Anything Was Written 11

3 Paul and His Letters 19

Time Line 31

New Testament

1 Thessalonians 35

The First Letter of Paul to the Thessalonians 40

Galatians 45

The Letter of Paul to the Galatians 49

1 Corinthians 57

The First Letter of Paul to the Corinthians 62

Philemon 85

The Letter of Paul to Philemon 89

Philippians 91

The Letter of Paul to the Philippians 94

2 Corinthians 101

The Second Letter of Paul to the Corinthians 105

Romans 119

The Letter of Paul to the Romans 126

Mark 149

The Gospel According to Mark 157

James 193

The Letter of James 197

Colossians 203

The Letter of Paul to the Colossians 206

Matthew 213

The Gospel According to Matthew 220

Hebrews 277

Letter to the Hebrews 283

John 301

The Gospel According to John 309

Ephesians 351

The Letter of Paul to the Ephesians 355

Revelation 363

The Revelation to John 371

Jude 401

The Letter of Jude 403

1 John 405

The First Letter of John 408

2 John 415

The Second Letter of John 416

3 John 419

The Third Letter of John 420

Luke 423

The Gospel According to Luke 429

Acts 489

The Acts of the Apostles 492

2 Thessalonians 547

The Second Letter of Paul to the Thessalonians 549

1 Peter 553

The First Letter of Peter 556

1 Timothy 563

The First Letter of Paul to Timothy 568

2 Timothy 575

The Second Letter of Paul to Timothy 578

Titus 583

The Letter of Paul to Titus 584

2 Peter 587

The Second Letter of Peter 589

What People are Saying About This

John Shelby Spong

“Marcus Borg has always been a great teacher. In his newest book Evolution of the Word, his teaching skills are obvious as he opens the New Testament, not only to its original, historical order, but also to insightful, refreshing and dramatic insights.”

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Evolution of the Word: The New Testament in the Order the Books Were Written 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
rtink More than 1 year ago
Most of us read the New Testament starting with Matthew then on thru Revelation. That is NOT the order in which the books were originally written. Marcus Borg puts them in the chronological order in which they were written. The order WAS a surprise to me, a pretty good Bible scholar. Before each book, Marcus writes a concise summary of the book. Some of the chapters in a book may not have been written in that order and at different times. This book is an excellent new look at the New Testament that every Bible student should read. I believe that you will find it enjoyable and interesting reading!
Lanis More than 1 year ago
As always, Marcus Borg has done an excellent job of interpretting the scriptures in the context of the social and political atmosphere of the time they were written. If this approach was used in all of the houses of worship today we would see an awakening and a change in the attitude of those who claim to be Christians. The Bible has been used to teach hate and bigotry based not on fact but on the beliefs of the individuals professing to be called out to teach. I believe Borg's work is part of the evolution of God's people that is occuring and will bring peace and justice to the world.