Falling Onto Cotton

Falling Onto Cotton

by Matthew E. Wheeler
Falling Onto Cotton

Falling Onto Cotton

by Matthew E. Wheeler


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 6
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


In this Gen X coming-of-age crime novel a restaurateur's life spins out of control when his dying uncle, a Milwaukee crime lord, gives him a choice of taking over the family or face certain death at the hands of a rival. This genre-defying novel is laced with humor, heart, and 1980s nostalgia.

"Riveting and hard to put down...mixes many facets but does so with a bartender's attention to the perfect drink of action, surprise, evolution, and revised life connections. It's highly recommended reading for crime story fans who like their tales both literary and thought-provoking"-D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

Haunted by the murder of his fiancée, Chance McQueen-once a musician on the cusp of success but now a restaurateur-knows alcohol and toxic relationships are choices slowly killing his soul. Trying to balance the scales between guilt and redemption, Chance takes under his wing a fatherless teen and mentors him through the dramatic stutter steps of budding adulthood.

Awkward, sweet, and soulful, 19-year-old Winnie is suspended in the inertia of waiting for life to begin. Navigating first love, parental loss, and trying to find purpose, Winnie knows he needs to grow up-while Chance is figuring out, he's not quite grown up enough.

But when Chance's dying uncle taps him to run his crime family, everyone Chance cares about will be put in harm's way. Chance must use all of his street smarts and call upon Winnie's naïve courage to navigate this criminal empire built on murder.

Brilliantly evocative of life at the tail end of the 80s, Falling onto Cotton blends the teenage angst of Pretty in Pink with the grit of The Departed. It is a razor-sharp, richly atmospheric and deeply moving portrait of a boy becoming a man, a man finding his code, and the dark underbelly of organized crime that surrounds them both.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781734913804
Publisher: MDR Publishing
Publication date: 09/08/2020
Pages: 396
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.88(d)

About the Author

Matthew E. Wheeler grew up in Wisconsin, where the winters can last a lifetime-and epic novels and movies of the 1970s and 1980s became his escape. After working for over twenty years in the restaurant and bar industry, Matthew turned to writing (with detours through rehab, marriage, and fatherhood along the way). He lives just outside of Seattle with his family, and is a member of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. To find out all you ever wanted to know about Matthew and listen to mixtapes from Falling onto Cotton, please visit matthewewheeler.com.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: You Can't Always Get What You Want

Chapter 2: Nights on Broadway

Chapter 3: Fortunate Son

Chapter 4: You've Got a Friend

Chapter 5: Old and Wise

Chapter 6: About a Girl

Chapter 7: God Bless the U.S.A.

Chapter 8: Run to You

Chapter 9: Turning Japanese

Chapter 10: Girl You Know It's True

Chapter 11: You Shook Me All Night Long

Chapter 12: Gangsta's Paradise

Chapter 13: I Fought the Law

Chapter 14: When Doves Cry

Chapter 15: Faithfully

Chapter 16: Holding Out for a Hero

Chapter 17: Take the Money and Run

Chapter 18: Smooth Operator

Chapter 19: Bridge Over Troubled Water

Chapter 20: Baba O'Riley

Chapter 21: Coward of the County

Chapter 22: I Wanna Be Sedated

Chapter 23: I Want You to Want Me

Chapter 24: Should I Stay or Should I Go

Chapter 25: Limelight

Chapter 26: Piano Man

Chapter 27: Parents Just Don't Understand

Chapter 28: Can't Fight This Feeling

Chapter 29: The Way We Were

Chapter 30: She's Gone

Chapter 31: Breaking Up (Is Hard to Do)

Chapter 32: She's Acting Single (I'm Drinking Doubles)

Chapter 33: Death on Two Legs

Chapter 34: I Won't Back Down

Chapter 35: Kiss the Girl

Chapter 36: Let It Be

Chapter 37: You're My Best Friend

Chapter 38: Once in a Lifetime

Chapter 39: Daybreak

Chapter 40: Maybe I'm Amazed

Chapter 41: Psycho Killer

Chapter 42: In the Air Tonight

Chapter 43: Bad Moon Rising

Chapter 44: Only the Good Die Young

Chapter 45: Stayin' Alive

Chapter 46: Final Countdown

Chapter 47: It's the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

Chapter 48: Who Wants to Live Forever

Chapter 49: In Your Eyes

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews