Fantasy Man: A Former NFL Player's Descent into the Brutality of Fantasy Football

Fantasy Man: A Former NFL Player's Descent into the Brutality of Fantasy Football

by Nate Jackson

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


The New York Times bestselling author of Slow Getting Up chronicles his descent into the madness of early retirement and fantasy football.

In Slow Getting Up—hailed by Rolling Stone as "the best football memoir of all time"—Nate Jackson told his story face down on the field. Now, in Fantasy Man, he’s flat on his back.

Six years have passed since the former Denver Broncos tight end wore a helmet, and every day he drifts further from the NFL Guy, the sanctioned-violence guy, the psychopath who ran head first into other psychos for money. But Nate hasn’t quite left the game. Bed-ridden by a recent surgery to remove bone fragments in his ankle, he’s trying to defend his title as top dog in Bunny 5-Ball, one of the millions of leagues captivating America through modern fantasy football, the interactive human poker game started by rotisserie leagues, boosted by ESPN and Yahoo!, and now elevated to that rarefied world of vaguely-legal Internet gambling by FanDuel and

And this time it isn’t a 300-pound wall of flesh rushing to crunch his spine.

It’s worse.

Exploring the fantasy—and the reality—of professional football after you’ve left the field, Fantasy Man is as funny, self-deprecating, and shockingly honest as Slow Getting Up.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062470089
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/20/2016
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Nate Jackson played six seasons in the National Football League as a wide receiver and a tight end. His writing has appeared in Deadspin, Slate, Daily Beast, BuzzFeed, the Wall Street Journal, and the New York Times. A native of San Jose, California, he now lives in Los Angeles. This is his first book.

Table of Contents

Prologue: The Draft 1

Week 1 Poppy Blankets 23

Week 2 Exhibition 33

Week 3 Name Change 41

Week 4 Brand X 51

Week 5 The Mortal Man 59

Week 6 Homecoming 67

Week 7 Sunday, Boring Sunday 83

Week 8 Side Effects 93

Week 9 Pockets of Luck 107

Week 10 Blank Screen 123

Week 11 Killing Peyton 139

Week 12 The Wishbone 155

Week 13 Just Dessert 165

Week 14 Born Again 181

Playoffs: Numberless Legends 199

Acknowledgments 223

Customer Reviews