Finding Yvonne

Finding Yvonne

by Brandy Colbert

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.46 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.46, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, December 16

Overview

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.

Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced to face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school.

Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future.

From the author of Pointe and Little & Lion, comes another heartfelt novel about the twists and turns that can show up on a path meant only for you.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316349024
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 06/04/2019
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 288,596
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Brandy Colbert is the critically acclaimed author of the novels Pointe, Finding Yvonne, and Stonewall Award winner Little & Lion. Born and raised in Springfield, Missouri, she now lives and writes in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Finding Yvonne 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the story because I needed a new and interesting read! I enjoy the fact that this book covers real life topics that could be considered taboo in some households. I would recommend this book!
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
When I heard about Brandy Colbert's new book, I added it without question. After reading Little and Lion last year I fell in love with her words and I knew I would read anything and everything else she wrote. And of course, once I had this in my hands, I didn't waste time to read this one too! Yvonne has played violin for as long as she could remember. She thought she loved it.... Until she didn't. Or so she thinks. As it gets closer to her graduation, she knows she needs to finally put some plans into action. As she tries to sort it out, she has trouble dealing with all the other things going on in her life, like her father, her "boyfriend," and her unexpected pregnancy. The main thing I liked about this was the fact that it was a contemp....About an African American girl. Contemps are some of my favorite reads and I'm not sure how many contemps with African American MC's there are, but I haven't read too many. And this one was amazing. I really wish I had something like this when I was a teen. And the topic itself is a bit taboo and people don't like talking about it. Which made me love that Colbert went this route even more. My other favorite part of this was the writing style. I used so many tabs while reading this one. I found myself lost amongst the pages multiple times. It was so easy to fell into Yvonne's world and learn more about her and her family. I really loved the characters as well. Yvonne went through a great character arc and she learned so much throughout the entire story. Although I didn't care for her choices, I still wanted to hug her and tell her everything would be alright. But other times I wanted to throttle her. I agreed more with Sabina, but I understood that Yvonne had to make her own choices before she took anything serious. It just took her a long time to get through to her. There was no surprise that I would like this one. However it did surprise me that I loved it as much as I did. Brandy Colbert is quickly climbing the ladder of my favorite authors. She is an amazing author who hasn't missed the mark with me yet.