From Time to Time: The Singles Collection

From Time to Time: The Singles Collection

by Paul Young


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Paul Young's retrospective From Time to Time: The Singles Collection brings together all his major U.S. and European hits from the 1980s and early 1990s. Some of these, including his only U.S. number one "Every Time You Go Away," were remixed when released as singles and to radio -- this collection intelligently includes those versions. Young's music, which bridged new wave, British soul, and adult contemporary, always sported state-of-the-art production, and, coupled with his soulful, yearning voice, has gone on to become some of the finest and most timeless the 1980s had to offer. The songs sound just as lush and energetic as when first released. Highlights include his bewitching breakthrough U.S. single "Come Back and Stay," its reggae-flavored follow-up "Love of the Common People," his massive "Every Time You Go Away," the electrifying "I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down," the timeless and sadly underrated "Everything Must Change," his breakthrough U.K. cover of Marvin Gaye's "Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)," his last U.S. Top Ten hit "Oh Girl," and the international smash "Senza Una Donna" (with Italian star Zucchero). Paul Young was a superb interpreter of other people's hits, evident here by two new tracks -- his stirring renditions of Crowded House's "Don't Dream It's Over" and Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now." The only hit missing is his smash from Fried Green Tomatoes "What Becomes of the Broken-Hearted," but, then again, that song was released the year after this collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/1991
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074644882926
catalogNumber: 48829
Rank: 104093

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Young   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Paul Carrack   Hammond Organ
Dan Hartman   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Geraint Watkins   Piano-Accordion
Jimmy Chambers   Background Vocals
George Chandler   Background Vocals
Danny Cummings   Percussion
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Kick Horns   Background Vocals,Brass
Neil Hubbard   Guitar
Pino Palladino   Bass
Nicky Payne   Saxophone
Danny Schogger   Keyboards
Pete Wingfield   Keyboards
Dej Meboney   Background Vocals
Tony Jackson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dan Hartman   Producer
Paul Young   Producer
Ciaran Brennan   Producer
Ian Kewley   Producer
Laurie Latham   Producer
Warne Livesey   Producer
Jeff Lorenzen   Remixing
Hugh Padgham   Producer
Corrado Rustici   Arranger,Producer
Pete Wingfield   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews