Galveston: 1900: Indignities, Book Two: The Aftermath

Galveston: 1900: Indignities, Book Two: The Aftermath

by N. E. Brown, S. L. Jenkins


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 28


The physical and emotional journey of Catherine Merit continues in Book 2 of the Indignities Trilogy. A must read historical fiction packed with dark suspense, emotion and romance. Following the aftermath of the Galveston Storm, Catherine Merit is faced with new dangers. After putting her past behind her, a year later, Catherine is again recaptured by villain, David Brooks, and taken to Beaumont, Texas, to start a new life as Brook's mail order, mute wife. Oil at Spindletop is discovered and the small town's growth provides a good living for them as the undertakers. Nine months later Catherine's first son is born and she must leave him at a convent, afraid Brooks will kill him, too. The townspeople of Beaumont get fed up with Brooks's underhanded dealings and his cheating leads to his death. Catherine is befriended by a handsome oil scout, Alex Cooper, and he saves her life. Once Catherine is free, she returns to Galveston only to learn that her husband, John Merit, had her declared dead, and married an older socialite who likes to spend his money. Complications arise and Catherine is faced with new issues as she tries to begin her life alone at the age of twenty with two sons. Catherine and Alex finally marry, but more tragic circumstances threaten their future and leave Catherine faced with trying to deal with the indignities of her past and the future of her children.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780989716864
Publisher: Mindstir Media
Publication date: 08/29/2013
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.65(d)

Customer Reviews