Ghost Empire: A Journey to the Legendary Constantinople

Ghost Empire: A Journey to the Legendary Constantinople

by Richard Fidler

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


"A brilliant reconstruction of the saga of power, glory, and invasion that is the one-thousand year story of Constantinople. A truly marvelous book." —Simon Winchester

Ghost Empire is a rare treasure—an utterly captivating blend of the historical and the contemporary, narrated by a master storyteller. The story is a revelation: a beautifully written ode to a lost civilization combined with a warmly observed father-son adventure far from home.

In 2014, Richard Fidler and his son Joe made a journey to Istanbul. Fired by Richard's passion for the rich history of the dazzling Byzantine Empire—centered around the legendary Constantinople—we are swept into some of the most extraordinary tales in history. The clash of civilizations, the fall of empires, the rise of Christianity, revenge, lust, murder. Turbulent stories from the past are brought vividly to life at the same time as a father navigates the unfolding changes in his relationship with his son.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681775777
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 520
File size: 31 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Richard Fidler presents "Conversations with Richard Fidler," an in-depth and personal radio program broadcast across Australia on ABC Radio. He has interviewed prime ministers, astronauts, writers, and scientists, but the program often features remarkable people who are unknown to the wider world. The program is the most popular podcast in Australia, with over a million downloaded programs every month. In another life, Richard was a member of Australian comedy trio the Doug Anthony Allstars (DAAS), which played to audiences all over the world. This is his first book.

Table of Contents

Author's note xi

Timeline xvii

Introduction 1

1 Radiant City 11

2 Rome to Byzantium 25

3 The Deep State 76

4 Persian Nightmares 145

5 Children of Ishmael 180

6 Uncreated Light 232

7 The Starlit Golden Bough 283

8 The Fourth Crusade 326

9 End of Days 360

10 A Thing Not of This World 390

11 The Artifice of Eternity 431

Acknowledgements 454

Endnotes 455

Bibliography 461

Image credits 471

Index 472

Customer Reviews