Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women

Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Award winning author-illustrator duo Catherine Thimmesh and Melissa Sweet inspire a new generation of innovators in this fascinating celebration of women inventors from diverse backgrounds.  For fans of WOMEN WHO DARED and WOMEN IN SCIENCE.

In kitchens and living rooms, in garages and labs and basements, even in converted chicken coops, women and girls have invented ingenious innovations that have made our lives simpler and better. Their creations are some of the most enduring (the windshield wiper) and best loved (the chocolate chip cookie). What inspired these women, and just how did they turn their ideas into realities?

From Sibert winner Catherine Thimmesh and Caldecott honor winner Melissa Sweet, this collective biography tells the stories of women and girls, their obstacles, and how they changed the world with their inventions.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780618195633
Publisher: HMH Books
Publication date: 03/11/2002
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 64
Sales rank: 102,463
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.17(d)
Lexile: 960L (what's this?)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Melissa Sweet is the Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator of many fine children’s books including Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White, winner of the NCTE Orbis Pictus award, Balloons Over Broadway, a Sibert winner, and The Right Word and A River of Words, both Caldecott Honors. Reviewers have described her unique mixed-media illustrations as “exuberant,” “outstanding,” and “a creative delight.” Melissa lives on the beautiful coast of Maine. In addition to writing and painting, she enjoys gardening, hiking, biking, and cross-country skiing. For more information about the author and her work, visit her online at melissasweet.net.

Catherine Thimmesh is the award-winning author of many books for children, including Girls Think of Everything and Team Moon, winner of the Sibert Medal. Her books have received numerous starred reviews, appeared on best books lists, and won many awards, including the IRA Children's Book Award and Minnesota Book Award. She lives in Minnesota with her family. www.catherinethimmesh.com. 

Customer Reviews