by Eric B. & Rakim


$7.93 $9.99 Save 21% Current price is $7.93, Original price is $9.99. You Save 21%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


Before Gold was released in 2005, only two Eric B. & Rakim compilations were readily available. 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection contained 11 tracks, shortchanging anyone who wanted more than the most-known classics. And then there was Classic, a European set so numbskulled that it depicted Eric B. and Chuck D on the back of its sleeve. (The bonus disc that came with early copies of Rakim's The 18th Letter, which did a better job than either release, doesn't really count, since it was rather limited and not a separate entity.) Gold, a double-disc package, bills itself as being definitive, but it's far from it. Alternate and extended mixes, along with a stray radio edit and a couple inexplicable clean versions, when added up, are more numerous than original mixes -- so that means hardcore fans will benefit most, right? Well, not if they gobbled up all of the alternates through the various editions of Paid in Full and Follow the Leader. The most regrettable track that suffers the ill fate (not ill meaning good but ill meaning bad) is "Let the Rhythm Hit 'Em": the "Clean UPSO Mix" is no match for the devastating original, an under-recognized touchstone for the RZA's early production work, with suffocating breakbeat pressure, funk guitar licks worthy of Public Enemy, and pulse-raising keyboard trills. While the definitive versions of "I Ain't No Joke," "Follow the Leader," "Microphone Fiend," "Lyrics of Fury," and "Don't Sweat the Technique" are provided, the truly definitive Eric B. & Rakim compilation has yet to be made.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2005
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0602498814284
catalogNumber: 000455902

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eric B. & Rakim   Primary Artist
Rakim   Rap
Eric B.   Turntables
Matt Black   scratching
DJ Cell   scratching

Technical Credits

Ralph Sutton   Engineer
Bobby Byrd   Composer
Tony A.   Engineer
Patrick Adams   Engineer
Lee Anthony   Engineer
Gary G-Wiz   Remixing
Melvin Gentry   Composer
Mark Harder   Engineer
Bobby Lovelace   Composer
C.J. Mackintosh   Remixing
45 King   Remixing
Anton Pukshansky   Engineer
Raine Shine   Remixing
Rakim   Composer
Brian Scheuble   Engineer
Hank Shocklee   Remixing
Elai Tubo   Engineer
Bo Watson   Composer
Benny Nagari   Arranger
P. Tony   Engineer
Eric B.   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Dave Dorrell   Remixing
Tom Terrell   Liner Notes
David Corio   Cover Photo
William Griffin   Composer
Michael Mixx'in Moor   Producer,Remixing
Pat Lawrence   Executive Producer
Traditional   Composer
Steve Griffin   Composer
Robert Hill   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews