Greatest Hits 1970-1978

Greatest Hits 1970-1978

by Black SabbathBlack Sabbath


$15.99 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Somewhere in every good music fan's basement is a worn-out copy of either the vinyl, eight-track, or cassette of Black Sabbath's We Sold Our Soul for Rock 'n' Roll. The 1976 compilation captured the darkest and beefiest moments from the Ozzy years and served as a right of passage for millions of aspiring musicians, burnouts, pastor's kids, and closet miscreants. Rhino's 16-track Greatest Hits 1970-1978 anthology only trumps the single-disc We Sold Our Soul CD by two songs, but it offers superior sound and features at least a few cuts from 1976's Technical Ecstasy and 1978's Never Say Die!, the band's last two pre-millennium Ozzy records. All of the faves are here ("Paranoid," "War Pigs," "Iron Man"), as well as fan classics like "Hole in the Sky" and "Supernaut," but there is enough material missing to call it a sampler rather than a "best of." Fans who are unwilling to shell out the extra money for Sanctuary's superior two-disc Sabbath collection from 2005 will find this sparse yet solid overview to be a useful "CliffsNotes" rendering of the birth of heavy metal.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/14/2006
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227336523
catalogNumber: 73365
Rank: 7000

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Black Sabbath   Primary Artist
Ozzy Osbourne   Harmonica,Vocals,Group Member
Geezer Butler   Bass,Bass Guitar,Group Member
Tony Iommi   Guitar,Group Member
Gerald Woodruffe   Keyboards
Bill Ward   Percussion,Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Black Sabbath   Producer
Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Tom (Colonel) Allom   Engineer
Rodger Bain   Producer,Audio Production
Robin Black   Engineer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Mike Butcher   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Geezer Butler   Composer
Colin Caldwell   Engineer
Ernest Chapman   Management
Brian Humphries   Engineer
Tony Iommi   Composer
Patrick Meehan   Producer,Audio Production
Barry Sheffield   Engineer
Mike Slarve   Management
Vic Smith   Engineer
Gerald Woodruffe   Arranger
Bill Ward   Composer
Julie Vlasak   Art Direction
Ross Halfin   Cover Photo
Steve Woolard   Discographical Annotation
Ralph Baker   Management
Sharon Osbourne   Executive Producer,Management
Dave "DW" Harris   Engineer
Don Kaye   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews