Groundwork: Autobiographical Writings, 1979-2012

Groundwork: Autobiographical Writings, 1979-2012

by Paul Auster


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Groundwork: Autobiographical Writings, 1979–2012 is an updated collection of nonfiction, including the seminal work The Invention of Solitude, from Man Booker Prize Finalist Paul Auster...

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250245809
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 05/05/2020
Pages: 656
Sales rank: 682,790
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Paul Auster is the bestselling author of 4 3 2 1, Winter Journal, Sunset Park, Invisible, The Book of Illusions, and The New York Trilogy, among many other works. He has been awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature, the Prix Médicis Étranger, the Independent Spirit Award, and the Premio Napoli. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a Commandeur de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

"Auster has an enormous talent for creating worlds that are both fantastic and believable. . . . His novels are uniformly difficult to put down, a testament to his storytelling gifts."—Timothy Peters, San Francisco Chronicle


Brooklyn, New York

Date of Birth:

February 3, 1947

Place of Birth:

Newark, New Jersey


B.A., M.A., Columbia University, 1970

Table of Contents

Portrait of an Invisible Man (1979) 1

The Book of Memory (19807-1981) 79

The Red Notebook (1992) 199

Why Write? (1995) 229

Hand to Mouth (1996) 241

Accident Report (1999) 357

It Don't Mean a Thing (2000) 365

Winter Journal (2011) 375

Report from the Interior (2012) 559

Acknowledgments 641

Customer Reviews