Haunted Border

Haunted Border

by Patrick Dearen
Haunted Border

Haunted Border

by Patrick Dearen



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


2022 Elmer Kelton Award Winner

Spur Award-Winning Author
Patrick Dearen

"Fast-paced, gripping, and exciting . . .
An unusual but interesting concept for a western story."—Historical Novel Society.

In 1870, Jake Graves faced a choice: allow Comanches to carry off his sister, or shoot her. Unwilling to fire, he has been tortured for decades by the brutal end that he could have spared her. The incident bred in him a hatred for Indians that persists to this day in 1917 on the Cross C Ranch on the Texas-Mexico border. Now Jake learns that his daughter Dru wants to marry Apache foreman Nub DeJarnett.

Even before Jake can process the news, Mexican bandits kidnap Dru and her cousin Ruthie. The bandit leader, Rentería, considers himself a tlahuelpuchi, a shape-shifting agent of evil, and he needs the women's blood to survive. Whether man or monster, Rentería is a killer.

Through a stretch of Chihuahuan Desert teeming with mystery, Jake and Nub take up the chase on horseback, for Rentería believes that Dru is his reincarnated sister and plans to slay her on the Rio Grande where his sister became his first kill.

Haunted Border is based on a taped account by a survivor of the true-life Brite Ranch Raid of 1917.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940160919133
Publisher: Speaking Volumes
Publication date: 05/13/2022
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

The author of twenty-six books, Patrick Dearen is a former award-winning reporter for two West Texas daily newspapers. As a nonfiction writer, Dearen has produced books such as A Cowboy of the Pecos; Saddling Up Anyway: The Dangerous Lives of Old-Time Cowboys; and Castle Gap and the Pecos Frontier, Revisited. His research has led to sixteen novels, including The Big Drift, winner of the Spur Award of Western Writers of America and the Peacemaker Award of Western Fictioneers. His other western-themed novels include When Cowboys Die (a Spur Award finalist); The End of Nowhere; The Illegal Man; To Hell or the Pecos; and Perseverance. His novels Apache Lament and Dead Man’s Boot both received the Elmer Kelton Award from the Academy of Western Artists.

A ragtime pianist and wilderness enthusiast, Dearen lives with his wife in Texas.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews