Hearts on Fire: Six Years that Changed Canadian Music 2000-2005

Hearts on Fire: Six Years that Changed Canadian Music 2000-2005

by Michael Barclay
Hearts on Fire: Six Years that Changed Canadian Music 2000-2005

Hearts on Fire: Six Years that Changed Canadian Music 2000-2005

by Michael Barclay


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, March 8
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


An authoritative, unprecedented account of how in the early 2000s Canadian music finally became cool

Hearts on Fire is about the creative explosion in Canadian music of the early 2000s, which captured the world’s attention in entirely new ways. The Canadian wave didn’t just sweep over one genre or one city, it stretched from coast to coast, affecting large bands and solo performers, rock bands and DJs, and it connected to international scenes by capitalizing on new technology and old-school DIY methods.

Arcade Fire, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Feist, Tegan and Sara, Alexisonfire: those were just the tip of the iceberg. This is also the story of hippie chicks, turntablists, poetic punks, absurdist pranksters, queer orchestras, obtuse wordsmiths, electronic psychedelic jazz, power-pop supergroups, sexually bold electro queens, cowboys who used to play speed metal, garage rock evangelists, classically trained solo violinists, and the hip-hop scene that preceded Drake. This is Canada like it had never sounded before. This is the Canada that soundtracked the dawn of a new century.

Featuring more than 100 exclusive interviews and two decades of research, Hearts on Fire is the music book every Canadian music fan will want on their shelf.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781770415874
Publisher: ECW Press
Publication date: 04/26/2022
Pages: 616
Sales rank: 600,625
Product dimensions: 6.44(w) x 9.19(h) x 1.77(d)
Lexile: 1050L (what's this?)

About the Author

Michael Barclay is the author of the 2018 national bestseller The Never-Ending Present: The Story of Gord Downie and the Tragically Hip. He is also a co-author of Have Not Been the Same: The CanRock Renaissance 1985–95, to which this book could be considered a sequel. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Table of Contents

Introduction: Get In or Get Out ix

1 Visualize Success: That Night in Toronto 1

2 National Hum: Setting the Stage 7

3 Dead Flag Blues: Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Constellation Records 44

4 Don't Be Crushed: The Cautionary Ballad of Hawksley Workman 68

5 Second Acts and '90s Survivors: The Weakerthans, Sarah Mariner, Joel Plaskett, Danko Jones 78

6 From Blown Speakers: The New Pornographers, Destroyer, Tegan and Sara, the Organ 124

7 First We Take Berlin: Feist, Peaches, Gonzales 171

8 Don't Mess with Our Love: The Dears, Sam Roberts 213

9 Now More Than Ever: Royal City, the Hidden Cameras, Constantines, Jim Guthrie, Owen Pallett, Three Gut Records 239

10 Country in the City: Corb Lund, the Be Good Tanyas, Kathleen Edwards, the Sadies 297

11 Your Ex-Lover Is in the Band: Broken Social Scene, Stars, Metric 344

12 Ain't Nobody Can Hang with Us: Kardinal Offishall, k-os, Swollen Members, Saukrates 391

13 Must You Always Remind Me?: Nickelback 422

14 Baiting the Public: Alexisonfire, Billy Talent, Fucked Up 425

15 Weirdo Magnets: Kid Koala, Buck 65, Caribou, Cadence Weapon 470

16 Drunk Clowns of the Victorian Era: Hot Hot Heat, Wolf Parade, the Unicorns, Black Mountain 508

17 Crown of Love: Arcade Fire 555

Conclusion: We Built Another World 588

Acknowledgements 597

Selected Sources 600

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews