Hell Bent, Heaven Bound: One Woman's Journey from the Drug House to the King's House

Hell Bent, Heaven Bound: One Woman's Journey from the Drug House to the King's House

by Shawnta' Pulliam


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 27

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683501077
Publisher: Morgan James Publishing
Publication date: 03/14/2017
Series: Faith Series
Pages: 124
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Shawntá Pulliam is a visionary, entrepreneur, motivational speaker, and life coach. She is the founder of Nurturing Hearts, a nonprofit organization in Erie, Pennsylvania, whose mission is to provide supportive leadership and life skills that will prepare girls ages ten to eighteen for a bright and positive future. Through her organization Shawntá Pulliam Arise, LLC, she offers inspirational speaking and life coaching services—a qualification she earned through being coached by world-renowned motivational speaker Les Brown.

Table of Contents


Fade to Black 3

Why Persephone Should Be a Black Name 4

East 149th Street (Symphony for a Black Girl) 6

Complected 7

My Monthly 8

Ode to Now 'n' Laters 9

Fifteen 11

Dear Diary 12

I'll Be There 16

Scar Tissue 18

Akron at Night 19

Free 20

Mercy 21

The Handicapped Stall 23

Sixteen 25

Brown Sugar 26


Understood 31

Membrane 32

Wrath 33

Passover 34

Searching 35

Nights at Maya's 37

Southern Cross 38

Piece 39

Perspective 40

The kink in the fantasy 41

One Night Stand 42

Morning When a Dream Lingers 43

Kiwi 44

Church 45

Process 46

After Earl Came Home 49

Work Calendar 50

Lily 51

The blond on his arm 54

Odalisque 55

Gaze 56

She Talks to Michael Fassbender 57

The small of my back (your hand here) 59

Permission 60

He Can Get The Panties 61

The Dark Lady Speaks 63


Haint 67

Charting 68

Knell 70

The First IVF Fails 71

Going Through With It 72

Bough breaks 73

Hunger 74

Slip Skin Study: Broken 75

At 5 weeks 76

The Return of the Prodigal Mother 77

Induced 78

Letdown 79

Family Bed 80

All the King's Horses 81

Thick of It 82

Two Glasses of Milk 83

Lament for Things Found Under a Child's Bed: 84

Notes 85

Biography 87

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews