Hellbound Train: An Anthology

Hellbound Train: An Anthology

by Steve Tibbetts
Hellbound Train: An Anthology

Hellbound Train: An Anthology

by Steve Tibbetts


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Hellbound Train is a two-disc, 28-track retrospective collection assembled by guitarist/percussionist/composer Steve Tibbetts surveying his four-decade (non-exclusive) tenure with ECM. The guitarist calls it "not so much a best of" as "The Best Steve Could Do." It cuts across albums from 1982's Northern Song to 2018's Life Of in non-chronological order. Tibbetts was looking for aesthetic consistency here. He took the first and last ten seconds of all his ECM compositions, mapped them out across three keyboards, and made label names with them. He played the ending of every song with the beginning of every other song until a plot began to reveal itself. He considered his pre-ECM classic Yr its own thing, and didn't include it here; likewise his two '90s/early-2000s collaborations with Tibetan vocalist Choying Drolma and A, his 1998 duo offering with Knut Hamre. The lion's share of these cuts are drawn from the three mid-period albums Big Map Idea (1989), The Fall of Us All (1994), and A Man About a Horse (2002). The subdued, labyrinthine "Full Moon Dogs" finds Tibbetts' and percussionist Marc Anderson buoyed by two additional bassists as congas and kalimbas meet acoustic and electric guitars, with wordless vocals from Claudia Schmidt and Rhea Valentine hovering in the mix. Added are five tracks from A Man About a Horse, wherein Tibbetts juxtaposes the opening ringing tones of his acoustic 12-string with swirling, overdriven yet controlled feedback on his electric guitar and organic, processional percussion -- check "Black Temple" and "Glass Everywhere." Following this immersion, Tibbetts returns to music from The Fall of Us All. The title track showcases how the guitarist inverts sounds using more layers of percussion, added basses, tabla, and episodic, bluesy 12-string runs. He expands on that palette with "You Cat," from 1986's Exploded View, as Anderson's layers of hand drums fall atop and around his shapeshifting multi-string drones and chord patterns. Disc two's opener is "Chandogra" from 2010's Natural Causes. Warm reverb and percussion frame Tibbetts' flamenco- and blues-tinged acoustic runs complete with drones and multi-string octave shifts. The five tracks making up the disc's centerpiece were drawn from Big Map Idea -- arguably, Tibbetts' most intimate album -- beginning with an inverted, impressionistic reading of Jimmy Page's theft of Bert Jansch's version of the traditional "Black Mountain Side." Excerpts from "100 Moons" and "Mile 234" underscore Tibbetts' nocturnal, blurry approach to these compositions as steel drums, vibes, congas, tablas, and more exchange lines and silvery polyrhythms under the guitars. The two tracks from Northern Song, his 1982 ECM debut, don't appear until later in disc two. "The Big Wind" and "Aerial View" showcase the guitarist at his quietest and most inquisitive, exploring modes, scales, and drones as devices for melodic invention. That exploration of interiority continues throughout the rest of the disc with tracks from Safe Journey, Life Of, and Natural Causes. In sum, Hellbound Train serves as an excellent introduction for newcomers and a sublime mixtape for fans. ~ Thom Jurek

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2022
Label: Ecm
UPC: 0602445574803
Rank: 7890


Disc 1

  1. Full Moon Dogs
  2. Chandoha
  3. Lochana
  4. Black Temple
  5. Burning Temple
  6. Glass Everywhere
  7. Roam and Spy
  8. Hellbound Train
  9. Nyemma
  10. Your Cat
  11. Vision

Disc 2

  1. Chandogra
  2. Climbing
  3. Black Mountain Side
  4. Start
  5. 100 Moons [excerpt]
  6. Mile 234 [excerpt]
  7. Wish
  8. Ishvaravana
  9. Bloodwork
  10. Life of Someone
  11. Life of Emily
  12. The Big Wind
  13. Aerial View
  14. Night Again
  15. My Last Chance
  16. End Again
  17. Threnody

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steve Tibbetts   Primary Artist,Dobro,Piano,Guitar,Bouzouki,Percussion
Michelle Kinney   Cello,Pipe
Bob Hughes   Double Bass
Tim Wienhold   Percussion
Marcus Wise   Tabla,Percussion
Rhea Valentine   Voices
Mike Olson   Synthesizer
Marc Anderson   Double Bass,Percussion,Congas,Drums
Steve Cochrane   Tabla
Jim Anton   Double Bass
Claudia Schmidt   Voices

Technical Credits

Steve Tibbetts   Mixing,Composer,Producer,Recording,Lithography,Tape Realizations
Mike Olson   Composer
Rick Marc Anderson   Composer
Marc Anderson   Composer,Mixing
Manfred Eicher   Executive Producer,Producer
Greg Reierson   Mastering Engineer,Recording
Jan Erik Kongshaug   Mixing Engineer,Recording
Jimmy Page   Composer
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews