Hello Darlin': Tall and Absolutely True Tales about My Life

Hello Darlin': Tall and Absolutely True Tales about My Life

by Larry Hagman, Todd Gold
4.7 6

Paperback

$11.25 $16.00 Save 30% Current price is $11.25, Original price is $16. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Use Standard Shipping ,  For guaranteed delivery by Dec. 24.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hello Darlin': Tall and Absolutely True Tales about My Life 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Beth_Rodgers_Author More than 1 year ago
'Hello Darlin': Tall (and Absolutely True) Tales About My Life' by Larry Hagman was a riveting read. It is truly amazing how there are some people whose lives have so much intrigue and excitement, while others have trouble recalling some of the best memories they have. This indelibly moving and telling account of Larry Hagman's life, including his youth, his friendships, his marriage and family life, his struggles, his risks, and his successes is worth every moment spent reading it. Fans of 'Dallas' and 'I Dream of Jeannie' will learn more about what occurred behind-the-scenes, and they will be transported into how life goes for a star. It may not always be as peachy as it might seem. Hagman's life, though, from playing Major Nelson to J.R. Ewing, among a slew of other Broadway, television, and movie roles, captures the essence of how no matter what your connections may be (his mother is Broadway star Mary Martin), you still have to give it your all and work for your stardom. He did just that, and proved that he could make it on his own. His life with wife Maj (pronounced 'My') is chronicled, as well as their relationships with other actors and friends, including Carroll O'Connor (Archie Bunker of 'All in the Family' and Chief Bill Gillespie' of 'In the Heat of the Night'), Burgess Meredith (the Penguin in the 'Batman' series and Mick in the 'Rocky' series), among a host of others, including many of the stars of 'Dallas.' Lovers of biographies (autobiographical or not) will enjoy being able to delve deeper into Hagman's lifestyle and work ethic. A fun, engaging read that will make you think just as much as it makes you laugh. Beth Rodgers, Author of 'Freshman Fourteen,' A Young Adult Novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! Larry Hagman was a delightful person who really valued his relationships and lived life to its fullest. This book has a great message.
ireneTZ More than 1 year ago
I just got done reading this book about a week ago, and I have to tell you that I loved this book. I love Larry Hagman as an actor on jeannieand on Dallas. It was a well written book and I would reccomend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love JR!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have just finished reading Larry Hagman's book and I absolutely LOVED it. I watched 'Dallas' for nearly the entire 13 year run and J.R./Larry Hagman was the most fun to watch. This book is very moving and touching and yet it is hilarious at the same time, especially when he talks about the pranks he and 'Dallas' castmate Patrick Duffy(Bobby Ewing)pulled on castmates. He also talks in depth about his addiction to alcohol(drinking up to 4 bottles of champagne a DAY!!!)and his courageous and successful fight for his life against a deadly illness. His love and devotion to his wife and children is very moving(same for their devotion to him) Fans of both 'Dallas' and 'I Dream of Jeannie' will get a big kick out of Larry's sometimes sad, sometimes funny stories(he also very obviously adored his mother, the legendary Peter Pan herself, Mary Martin) and I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good yarn!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book by one of my favorite show Dallas actor. It was very fun to read and very interesting too.