Her Sister's Bridegroom

Her Sister's Bridegroom

by Jane Bonander

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, September 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Her Sister's Bridegroom by Jane Bonander

Bestselling author Jane Bonander delights with enchanting historical romances set on the Scottish borderlands, perfect for fans of Paula Quinn and Karen Marie Moning.

“Bonander writes with an easy style that brings her characters and timeframe to vivid, entertaining life.” — RT Book Reviews

Robbie Fleming is out of options.

When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative—her fraternal twin sister, Birdie—Robbie has nowhere to go.

But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.

Gavin Eliot has his head in the clouds.

When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, Gavin’s astonished to realize that he’s just unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin honor-bound to his word, they find themselves headed to the altar. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And can Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected to marry?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781635761740
Publisher: Diversion Publishing
Publication date: 01/23/2018
Pages: 236
Sales rank: 626,046
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Bestselling author Jane Bonander has published over a dozen full length novels and four anthologies, all dealing with the perils and passions of romantic historical fiction. She currently lives in St. Paul, Minnesota with her husband.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Her Sister's Bridegroom 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these kind of stories. Robbie has really had a hard time her sister steals her boyfriend and leaves her with nothing. But she gets a proposell from one of her sister's admirer and takes him up on it. They marry then her sister shows up. Things get very interesting but it all works out for the best!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Edinburgh - 1872 Robbie Fleming is living in a rat-infested rooming house. While she dreams of being an author, the only way she make make money is to write pornographic stories. She also volunteers at a clinic of sorts to care for prostitutes. Robbie and her sister, Birdie, lost their mother many years ago and their father recently. A small amount of money was left to each of the girls. Birdie used hers to buy dresses and then she stole and married Robbie’s beau. Robbie used her money to attend college. Her writing is for an erotic underground serial and she writes under the name of Jeremy Greene, a well-known writer, recently deceased. Just when her landlady tells her she needs to vacate her room, she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, a young man she has known and loved in the past. He is asking her to marry him. Thrilled, she accepts and journeys to his home, Erskine House. When she arrives, Gavin realizes he meant to ask Birdie to marry him, not Robbie. It turns out that the girls are twins. Gavin got them mixed up and now he doesn’t know what to do. Dr. Colin Innes lives in Gavin’s home and is his good friend. Colin stopped practicing medicine after he was injured leaving his face scarred. He befriends Robbie who is not at all shocked at his appearance. Gavin and Robbie marry and shortly thereafter, selfish Birdie comes to visit. There are many bumps in the road that try to derail their marriage. But, can they persevere? This was a busy story. The author’s writing at first did not sound true to the time period and the wording seemed to go with a modern day novel. There is so much going on that it’s almost dizzying. I thought that this had been written by a debut author but was surprised to find that she is an established author. I’m sure that other readers will truly enjoy the book and I will try to read more by the author to see if her other books are more appealing to me. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Her Sister’s Bridegroom by Jane Bonander As I read I thought: * Perfect plot for a black and white silent movie * Written in a similar vein to books Published in the early 1900’s * Melodramatic * Really? * Hmm… * A lot happened in 200 or so pages * Could anyone be so stupid? (at times for more than one character) I am on the fence about this one. I enjoyed the story as it ambled along but I kept finding it very difficult to believe or invest in. The twins: Robbie – darker hair, smarter, more aware, always in the background of her more vibrant sister Birdie – the more vibrant redhead coquette that attracted men to her as bees are attracted to pollen – but – a total user and useless all in one The “other” woman: Faith has had a hankering for the main character for a long time and is not as sweet as he thinks she is – an actress out for herself Best Friends (one is the hero…sort of) Gavin Elliott - is a brilliant in some ways and not so much in others. He can remember the ancients but not the names of those more recent – in fact – the reason he proposed to Robbie is he got the twins names wrong. His head is in the clouds but he can keep his feet on the ground from time to time and when he finally realizes his accident might have been a blessing…things might turn out alright Dr. Colin Innes – liked him till he succumbed to Birdie…much as those bees I mentioned earlier. He is scarred but in so many ways a good man and a good friend to many. So…easy to read, plausibility iffy, writing style sedate and modest (mostly) with snippets of naughty writing Robbie gets paid to write and a few interactions that take place between Gavin and Robbie a bit warmer, a LOT going on for the characters to deal with and in the end…I was glad I finished the story and hoped the characters would manage to have enjoyable lives… I guess it was hard for me to put myself into any of the characters shoes or want to be any of them or with any of the men mentioned. Thank you to NetGalley and Diversion Books for the ARC – This is my honest review. 3-4 Stars