Hokuloa Road: A Novel

Hokuloa Road: A Novel

by Elizabeth Hand
Hokuloa Road: A Novel

Hokuloa Road: A Novel

by Elizabeth Hand

eBook

$3.99  $13.99 Save 71% Current price is $3.99, Original price is $13.99. You Save 71%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers


Overview

A young man is drawn into the dark side of paradise in this "brilliantly atmospheric" (New York Times Book Review) and "refreshingly creepy" (Washington Post) mystery.

A New York Times Notable Book of 2022

On a whim, Grady Kendall applies to work as a live-in caretaker for a luxury property in Hawaiʻi, as far from his small-town Maine life as he can imagine. Within days he's flying out to an estate on remote Hokuloa Road, where he quickly uncovers a dark side to the island’s idyllic reputation: it has long been a place where people vanish without a trace.

When a young woman from his flight becomes the next to disappear, Grady is determined—and soon desperate—to figure out what's happened to Jessie, and to all those staring out of the island’s “missing" posters. But working with Raina, Jessie’s fiercely protective best friend, to uncover the truth is anything but easy, and with an inexplicable and sinister presence stalking his every step, Grady can only hope he'll find the answer before it's too late.

Perfect for fans of Peter Heller and The White Lotus, and from award-winning writer Elizabeth Hand, a master of crime fiction known for her magnetic characters, seductive prose, and fearless excavations into the darkest corners of our world, comes a chilling and illuminating new novel about a place unlike any other—and the deadly cost of keeping it so.

"Set in a Hawaii so vividly imagined I'm still shaking sand out of my shoes."—Grady Hendrix, New York Times bestselling author of The Final Girl Support Group

“Twisty and dark . . . easily one of the best thrillers I've read.” —Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs
 
“This is the perfect book for your summer beach bag—an evocative mystery set in a tropical island paradise.” —Jason Rekulak, author of Hidden Pictures

  
 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316542012
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 07/19/2022
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 3,159
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Elizabeth Hand is the author of more than nineteen cross-genre novels and collections of short fiction, including The Book of Lamps and Banners and Curious Toys. Her work has received the Shirley Jackson Award (three times), the World Fantasy Award (four times), the Nebula Award (twice), as well as the James M. Tiptree Jr. and Mythopoeic Society Awards. She's a longtime critic and contributor of essays for the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, SalonBoston Review, and the Village Voice, among many others. She divides her time between the Maine coast and North London.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews