Holmes' Own Story: Confessed 27 Murders - Lied Then Died

Holmes' Own Story: Confessed 27 Murders - Lied Then Died

Holmes' Own Story: Confessed 27 Murders - Lied Then Died

Holmes' Own Story: Confessed 27 Murders - Lied Then Died



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


A fascinating look into the mind of H. H. Holmes, one of America's first serial killers known as the 'Devil in the White City' who built a Murder Castle and lured victims into secret rooms, vaults, and gas chambers during the Chicago's World's Fair.

Featuring 87 rare, historical illustrations and Holmes' birth and death certificates. Holmes' Own includes:

-HH Holmes 1895 memoir written by the killer while he awaited trial
-Moyamensing Prison diary
-Holmes' confession of murders of twenty-seven men, women, and children (1896)
-Judgement day with Holmes' death by hanging at Moyamensing Prison
-Unusual concrete burial at historic Holy Cross Cemetery in Yeadon, Pennsylvania
-Holmes planned reincarnation
-Philadelphia Detective Frank P. Geyer interview about Holmes' plan to murder Georgiana Yoke, his third wife
-Mrs. Benjamin Pitezel interview after Holmes' execution
-Sources, Illustration Credits, Bibliography, Notes, and INDEX 

Table of Contents:

List of Illustrations
To the Reader

Handwritten Statement 
Holmes' Preface
Holmes' Own Story
Moyamensing Prison Diary Appendix

The Tale of the Greatest Criminal in History
Murder 1: Dr. Robert Leacock 
Murder 2: Dr. Russell
Murders 3, 4: Mrs. Julia L. Connor, Daughter, Pearl
Murder 5: Rogers
Murder 6: Charles Cole
Murder 7: Lizzie
Murders 8, 9, 10: Mrs. Sarah Cook, Baby, Niece
Murder 11: Miss Emeline Cigrand
Three Unsuccessful Attempts of Triple Murder
Murder 12: Miss Rosine Van Jassand
Murder 13: Robert Latimer
Murder 14: Miss Anna Betts
Murder 15: Miss Gertrude Conner
Murder 16: Miss Kate Durkee
Murder 17: Mr. Warner
Murder 18: Rogers, A Young Englishman
Murder 19: A Female Boarder
Murders 20, 21: Minnie and Nannie Williams
Murder 22: Unknown Chicago Man
Murder 23: Baldwin Williams
Murder 24: Benjamin F. Pitezel
Murder 25: Howard Pitezel
Murders 26, 27: Alice and Nellie Pitezel
Attempted Murder of Mrs. Pitezel, Two Children
Conclusion of Confession
Statement from Detective Geyer

Judgment Day - Thursday, May 7, 1896
Concrete Burial - Friday, May 8, 1896
Holmes' Reincarnation? 

Illustration Credits

Available in eBook, Paperback, Large Print Paperback, and Hardcover

Don't miss out on this historical book. Add Holmes' Own Story: Confessed 27 Murders, Lied Then Died to your library today!

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158549878
Publisher: Aerobear Classics
Publication date: 11/06/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 329
Sales rank: 1,010,480
File size: 9 MB

About the Author

JD Crighton is the author of Detective in the White City: The Real Story of Frank Geyer and the companion book Holmes' Own Story: Confessed 27 Murders, Lied The Died. Both of these books are must reads for everyone who loved the wildly popular Devil in the White City by Erik Larson. JD writes in the biography, history, true crime, and thriller genres and is a member of Biographers International Organization, Nonfiction Authors Association, and International Thriller Writers.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews