by Fernando OrtegaFernando Ortega


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


How appropriate is it that when this popular CCM vocalist is either praying to or praising God, he hits all the emotional hotspots, yet when he's telling folksy tales about only marginally interesting characters, the songs fall somewhat flat? He could easily have a potential worship standard on his hands with the joyous, country influenced up-tempo rocker "This Good Day," which simply but effectively sees the morning as a gift of the Creator. The simple piano-vocal piece "Pass Me Not" and dramatic, soaring "Beyond the Sky" have an amazing hymn-like quality to them as they explore all the doubts and faith inherent in the Christian life. "No One Else" comes across like a swinging pop Psalm, and a gentle reworking of the African-American plea "Give Me Jesus" is pure and heartfelt. On the other hand, pieces like "Old Girl" that don't reference God are forgettable folk tunes. There are hints here of a Rich Mullins-like writing and vocal style, but with slightly less imagination. Given time, though, Ortega could develop into one of CCM's brightest lights of the new millennium.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/02/2002
Label: Word Entertainment
UPC: 0080688600525
catalogNumber: 886005
Rank: 56293


  1. This Good Day
  2. Old Girl
  3. Lonely Road
  4. On the Line
  5. Pass Me Not
  6. No One Else
  7. Virginia Rose
  8. Prayer for Home
  9. Beyond the Sky
  10. Winter Song
  11. Give Me Jesus

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fernando Ortega   Primary Artist,Piano
Phil Madeira   Accordion
Javier Solís   Percussion
Howard McCrary   Background Vocals
Steve Addabbo   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist
Tim Chandler   Bass
George Cocchini   Guitar
Randy Crenshaw   Recorder
Stuart Duncan   Violin
Don Heffington   Drums,Snare Drums
Greg Leisz   Guitar
Linda McCrary-Campbell   Background Vocals
Randy Mitchell   Guitar
Kristle Murden   Background Vocals
Dean Parks   Guitar
David Raven   Drums,Snare Drums
Bob Somma   Guitar
Kelly Willard   Background Vocals
John Schreiner   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Accordion,electronic percussion
Cameron Stone   Cello
Matt Slocum   Guitar
Cathy Schreiner   Background Vocals
George Cochini   Guitar
Tad Wagner   Guitar
Jon Hughes   Guitar
Rebekah Caggegi   Background Vocals
Rich Nibbe   Guitar
Jimmy Johnson   Bass

Technical Credits

John Hughes   Composer
Dan Posthuma   Executive Producer
John Schreiner   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,overdub engineer,Vocal Engineer
Beth Lee   Art Direction
Michael C. Ross   Engineer
Fernando Ortega   Arranger
Fanny Crosby   Composer
Dav Dilbeck   Engineer
W.H. Doane   Composer

Customer Reviews