House of Dreams: The Life of L. M. Montgomery

House of Dreams: The Life of L. M. Montgomery

House of Dreams: The Life of L. M. Montgomery

House of Dreams: The Life of L. M. Montgomery


(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Usually ships within 6 days
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


An affecting biography of the author of Anne of Green Gables is the first for young readers to include revelations about her last days and to encompass the complexity of a brilliant and sometimes troubled life.

Once upon a time, there was a girl named Maud who adored stories. When she was fourteen years old, Maud wrote in her journal, “I love books. I hope when I grow up to be able to have lots of them.” Not only did Maud grow up to own lots of books, she wrote twenty-four of them herself as L. M. Montgomery, the world-renowned author of Anne of Green Gables. For many years, not a great deal was known about Maud’s personal life. Her childhood was spent with strict, undemonstrative grandparents, and her reflections on writing, her lifelong struggles with anxiety and depression, her “year of mad passion,” and her difficult married life remained locked away, buried deep within her unpublished personal journals. Through this revealing and deeply moving biography, kindred spirits of all ages who, like Maud, never gave up “the substance of things hoped for” will be captivated anew by the words of this remarkable woman.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781536213140
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Publication date: 05/26/2020
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 474,359
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Liz Rosenberg is a poet, best-selling novelist, professor, and writer of numerous acclaimed books for children. She has edited several poetry anthologies for young readers, including Light-Gathering Poems, winner of the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Prize. She lives in Binghamton, New York.

Julie Morstad is the illustrator of numerous books for young readers, including When Green Becomes Tomatoes by Julie Fogliano and Swan: The Life and Dance of Anna Pavlova by Laurel Snyder. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 A Bend in the Road 1

Chapter 2 An Early Sorrow 7

Chapter 3 "Very Near to a Kingdom of Ideal Beauty" 23

Chapter 4 The Jolly Years 37

Chapter 5 Room for Dreaming 45

Chapter 6 Count Nine Stars 57

Chapter 7 "Darling Father" and Prince Albert 67

Chapter 8 The Pill inside the Jam 87

Chapter 9 The Happiest Year 93

Chapter 10 Schoolmarm in Bideford 101

Chapter 11 HALIFAX! 115

Chapter 12 Belmont and the Simpsony Simpsons 125

Chapter 13 The Year of Mad Passion 139

Chapter 14 Back in the House of Dreams 157

Chapter 15 The Creation of Anne 175

Chapter 16 "Yes, I Understand the Young Lady Is a Writer" 197

Chapter 17 "Those Whom the Gods Wish to Destroy" 217

Chapter 18 A Changed World 239

Chapter 19 A Woman "They Cannot Bluff, Bully or Cajole" 261

Chapter 20 Dashing over the Traces 275

Chapter 21 Journey's End 299

Epilogue 321

Time Line of L. M. Montgomery's Life 327

Source Notes 333

Bibliography 337

Acknowledgments 339

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews