Hunting Muskie: Rites of Passage

Hunting Muskie: Rites of Passage

by Michael Robert Dyet


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Life becomes a search to find our way home after unexpected storms knock us off course. This collection of 16 stories reflects that deep urge to return to where we feel at peace. The journey back becomes a rite of passage.

The title story, “Hunting Muskie,” sets the tone – the hunt to find and subdue an unseen foe. Each of the other stories elaborate on that theme.

Hunter is haunted by the mistake that defined his life. A chance encounter sets Edward on a search for answers. An act of bullying committed decades ago brings a day of reckoning for Quentin. Will must pay the ransom of conscience. A shocking event causes Laurel to fall victim to a temptation she cannot rationalize. Huck shuts out the loss he cannot face until he can deny it no longer. Malcolm seeks atonement for a desperate act committed in the name of love.

The longer piece, “Slipstream,” ties together the connecting threads: the powerful forces that derail us, how we are driven to search for answers, and the harsh truth that redemption often comes at a price.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781927882221
Publisher: Blue Denim Press Inc
Publication date: 10/01/2017
Pages: 246
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.52(d)

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Slipstream.. 1

Dancing with Ghosts. 84

Winter Solstice. 92

5 Iron. 105

Ransom Heart 113

The Thing with Feathers. 123

Scars of Humanity. 137

God’s Honest Truth. 148

Saint Jude. 158

The Blank Deed. 165

The Reckoning. 173

Incorrigible. 185

Hurricane Ike. 192

Five For Luck. 202

Hunting Muskie. 215

Flights of Deliverance. 225

Customer Reviews