I Can't Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I've Put My Faith in Beyoncé

I Can't Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I've Put My Faith in Beyoncé

by Michael Arceneaux

Paperback

$15.50 $17.00 Save 9% Current price is $15.5, Original price is $17. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Featured as One of Summer’s most anticipated reads by the Los Angeles Times, Vogue, Vulture, Entertainment Weekly, ELLE, Buzzfeed, and Bitch Media.

From the author of I Don’t Want to Die Poor and in the style of New York Times bestsellers You Cant Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I'm Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity.

It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux.

Equality for LGBTQ people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being Black in America is...well, have you watched the news?

With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, I Cant Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite.

He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; being approached for the priesthood; his obstacles in embracing intimacy that occasionally led to unfortunate fights with fire ants and maybe fleas; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams.

Perfect for fans of David Sedaris, Samantha Irby, and Phoebe Robinson, I Cant Date Jesus tells us—without apologies—what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501178856
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication date: 07/24/2018
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 165,927
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Michael Arceneaux is the New York Times bestselling author of I Can’t Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I’ve Put My Faith in Beyoncé. He has written for The New York Times, The Washington Post, Essence, Esquire, Ebony, Elle, Rolling Stone, and many other publications on and off Al Gore’s internet. He’s ran his mouth on MSNBC, NPR, VH1, Viceland, Comedy Central, SiriusXM, and elsewhere. His second book is I Dont Want to Die Poor. He’s working very hard to avoid such fate.

Table of Contents

Introduction: Where'd You Go? 1

The First Taste 13

I See a Priest in You 27

The First, the Worst 43

Diana Ross 59

You Will Die Poor 73

Learning How to Ho and Date and Failing at Both 91

This Place Is No Sanctuary 115

Itchy and Scratchy 129

My Lord and Gyrator 141

The Marrying Kind 155

The Pinkprint 165

I'll Dial That Number 179

The Impossible 195

I Can't Date Jesus 211

Sweet Potato Saddam 225

Epilogue: Yeah, Everything Good… We Good 231

Acknowledgments 239

Customer Reviews