If I Were You: A Novel

If I Were You: A Novel

by Lynn Austin

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

“A stunning historical saga of hardship and desire in wartime. . . . Readers won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough [in this] . . . unique take on the traditional World War 2 tale.” —Library Journal

From bestselling and eight-time Christy Award–winning author Lynn Austin comes a remarkable novel of sisterhood, self-discovery, and romance set against the backdrop of WW2.

1950. In the wake of the war, Audrey Clarkson leaves her manor house in England for a fresh start in America with her young son. As a widowed war bride, Audrey needs the support of her American in-laws, whom she has never met. But she arrives to find that her longtime friend Eve Dawson has been impersonating her for the past four years. Unraveling this deception will force Audrey and Eve’s secrets—and the complicated history of their friendship—to the surface.

1940. Eve and Audrey have been as different as two friends can be since the day they met at Wellingford Hall, where Eve’s mother served as a lady’s maid for Audrey’s mother. As young women, those differences become a polarizing force . . . until a greater threat—Nazi invasion—reunites them. With London facing relentless bombardment, Audrey and Eve join the fight as ambulance drivers, battling constant danger together. An American stationed in England brings dreams of a brighter future for Audrey, and the collapse of the class system gives Eve hope for a future with Audrey’s brother. But in the wake of devastating loss, both women must make life-altering decisions that will set in motion a web of lies and push them both to the breaking point long after the last bomb has fallen.

This sweeping story transports readers to one of the most challenging eras of history to explore the deep, abiding power of faith and friendship to overcome more than we ever thought possible.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496437303
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Publication date: 06/02/2020
Pages: 464
Sales rank: 33,285
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)

What People are Saying About This

Liz Curtis Higgs

If I Were You is a page-turning, nail-biting, heart-stopping gem of a story.”

Julie Klassen

If I Were You is sure to garner accolades and appeal to fans of novels like The Alice Network and The Nightingale.”

Sharon Garlough Brown

“Lynn Austin weaves a tale of redemption that bears witness to Christ’s power to make all things new.”

Tamera Alexander

“I have long enjoyed Lynn Austin’s novels, but If I Were You resonates above all others.”

Susan Meissner

“Lynn Austin is a master at exploring the depths of human relationships.”

Cathy Gohlke

“A compelling read, beautifully written, celebrating the strength of faith and the power of sisterhood.”

Customer Reviews