I'll Be the One

I'll Be the One

by Lyla Lee

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Diverse book recommended by The Today Show * An Amazon Best Book of 2020 * One of B&N's 100 Books of Summer for Teens & YA

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she’s about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her.

She’ll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she’ll do it better than anyone else.

When Skye nails her audition, she’s immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn’t count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho.

But Skye has her sights on becoming the world’s first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition—without losing herself.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062936929
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/16/2020
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 34,570
Product dimensions: 8.20(w) x 5.50(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Lyla Lee is the author of I’ll Be the One and the Mindy Kim series for younger readers. Born in a small town in South Korea, she’s since lived in various cities throughout the United States. Inspired by her English teacher, she started writing her own stories in fourth grade and finished her first novel at the age of fourteen. After studying psychology and cinematic arts at the University of Southern California and working in Hollywood, Lyla now lives in Dallas, Texas. When she’s not writing, she is teaching kids and searching for the perfect bowl of shaved ice. You can visit her at www.lylaleebooks.com.

Customer Reviews