In Darkness, Look for Stars: An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel

In Darkness, Look for Stars: An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel

by Clara Benson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Utterly captivating.’ Goodreads Reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was completely hooked.’ Goodreads Reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘One of the best books I have read.’ Goodreads Reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Fantastic… My heart was in my mouth.’ Shaz’s Book Blog

Paris, 1941: Going against her mother’s orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape Paris, which grows more dangerous by the day. Under the cloak of darkness, she bids farewell to fellow fighter Emil, who flees the city with the Nazis hot on his heels.

Emil is bound for Maggie’s sister, Cecilia, hundreds of miles away in the south of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Up until now, she has lived a sheltered existence: wild and dangerous Emil turns her world upside down. She risks everything to protect him and soon puts her life on the line to aid the secret work of the Resistance.

As each day passes and the war rages on, Cecilia cannot help being drawn to Emil. But as the Nazis close in on them, she faces a terrible choice. Exactly how far is she willing to go for love? And will she be able to live with herself, whatever choice she makes?

An evocative, riveting and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter and All The Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.

Readers absolutely love In Darkness, Look for Stars:

AmazingOne of my favourite stories… A brilliant story that is full of twists and turns… I felt like I was on the edge of my seat the whole time while reading… A must-read.’ Chells and Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my word, this was definitely an emotive and additive read, and then someI felt myself well up… I fully immersed myself in the story and I knew that nothing much would be done for the rest of the day as I would be too busy reading!... I was too hookedSuperbly written… I became so emotionally involved with certain characters that every time they felt pain, I felt painThe author uses such vivid and realistic descriptions that I actually felt as though I was part of the story myself.’ Ginger Book Geek, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

AmazingI truly loved this book… Clara Benson does a masterful job of bringing her characters to life… Fans of All the Light We Cannot See will thoroughly enjoy this book…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781838881993
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 04/17/2020
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 137,402
File size: 644 KB

About the Author

Clara Benson is the author of the Angela Marchmont Mysteries and Freddy Pilkington-Soames Adventures - traditional English whodunits in authentic style set in the 1920s and 30s. One day she would like to drink cocktails and solve mysteries in a sequinned dress and evening gloves. In the meantime she lives in the north of England with her family and doesn't do any of those things.

Customer Reviews