In the Ring

In the Ring

by Sierra Isley
In the Ring

In the Ring

by Sierra Isley

Paperback

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$14.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A 2024 Book All Young Georgians Should Read - Georgia Center for the Book

"In the Ring gets that sometimes learning a new sport can look a lot like falling in love. If you like ride-or-die besties, bad boys with heart, and girls who can throw a punch, you’ll enjoy this debut.” - Emma Kress, author of Dangerous Play

A gritty, raw, and binge-worthy, young adult romance about a queer teen with anxiety who literally fights her way to mental health. This YA sports romance is perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces and HBO's Euphoria.

Rose Berman is losing her mind. At least, that's what everyone at school seems to think. Plagued by panic attacks that started after her mother's death, Rose is the target of frequent teasing and rumors. But when the star quarterback takes a joke too far, the school's tattooed, cigarette-smoking time bomb — Elliott King — steps in and punches him in the face. Rose's therapist recommends she try out a sport to manage her anxiety. She can't help but think of Elliott—maybe if she could punch like him, she'd feel safer and stronger. She sticks out like a sore thumb at the boxing gym, but she soon finds power in the sport and a reprieve from her panic attacks.

As their worlds intertwine, Rose and Elliott are forced to face their most daunting opponent outside the Ring: their growing feelings for each other. But Midtown Ring isn't just a gym. As Rose falls deeper into the world of boxing, she learns Midtown is a front for a late-night, underground fight club where Elliott King is the headliner. Surrounded by violence and destruction, Rose's anxiety begins to spiral. She starts hallucinating, just like her mother did before her death, leaving her to wonder if everyone at school might be right. If her newfound physical strength can't keep her grounded in reality, she may be doomed to walk the same path as her mom.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781956378146
Publisher: The Little Press
Publication date: 09/15/2023
Pages: 312
Sales rank: 233,634
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

Sierra Isley is a young adult author originally from Atlanta, Georgia, but currently based in Philadelphia, PA. She graduated from Florida State University in 2021 with a degree in Editing, Writing and Media. Outside of writing, her passions include filmmaking, social media communications and drinking chai lattes. IN THE RING is her debut novel.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"In the Ring gets that sometimes learning a new sport can look a lot like falling in love. If you like ride-or-die besties, bad boys with heart, and girls who can throw a punch, you’ll enjoy this debut.” - Emma Kress, author of Dangerous Play

"A bold and brave new writer to watch. In the Ring will keep your pulse elevated in all the good ways." - Terra Elan McVoy, author of Criminal

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews