INCEPTIO

INCEPTIO

by Alison Morton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

INCEPTIO by Alison Morton

"A must read for fans of Manda Scott and Kate Mosse" – Lisa Redmond, Madwoman in the Attic blog
INCEPTIO plunges you into a 21st century Roman world. Apart from kidnapping, heartache and a close encounter with Latin grammar, New Yorker Karen Brown must contend with a fascinating Praetorian elite forces officer. Oh, and a crazy killer pursuing her for a very personal reason.

Karen flees to her dead mother's homeland, Roma Nova, the last remnant of the Roman Empire. Founded sixteen hundred years ago by Roman exiles and now ruled by women, it gives Karen safety and a ready-made family – but at a price.

In this adventure thriller set in an alternative timeline, Karen grows from a girl anybody might know into a strong female character not only intent on staying alive but also on finding out why the killer is hunting her.

A coming of age story, where an ordinary girl discovers there is a great deal more lying under her mundane existence, but also lethal danger. At what stage does she stop running from it?

"The Hunger Games meets Lindsey Davis's Roman detective Falco."

– B.R.A.G. Medallion honoree
– shortlisted for the 2013 International Rubery Book Award
– finalist in 2014 Writing Magazine Self-Published Book of the Year

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149661541
Publisher: Pulcheria Press
Publication date: 03/20/2013
Series: Roma Nova , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 315
Sales rank: 573,494
File size: 881 KB

About the Author

Alison Morton, writes the award-winning Roma Nova thriller series featuring modern Praetorian heroines. She blends her deep love of Roman history with six years’ military service, an MA in history, blogging, cultivating a Roman herb garden and drinking wine in France with her husband of 30 years.

Find out more about Alison’s writing life, Romans and alternate history at her blog www.alison-morton.com, or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AlisonMortonAuthor and follow her on Twitter @alison_morton. Sign up for her free monthly newsletter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Inceptio 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Step into another world. A great novel is the story of a worthy character. So it is from the beginning of "Inceptio." You will meet Karen Brown and begin to watch her transformation into her natural self. An identity is revealed of which, at the onset, she knows nothing. The revelation arrives accompanied by a deadly danger. Alison Morton's launch of her alternate history series will immerse you in an intriguing realm. The matrilineal state of Roma Nova draws the reader into its divergence built through Morton's excellent visuals. Character and setting development is distinct and effective, and the result for her reader is an engrossing world one may slip into with ease. Karen/Carina herself is a vision of strength, one meant to find her way home. Able to meet challenge after challenge, Carina's heritage, once discovered and embraced, sends her on a journey of service fitting for a warrior and a noble. The story unfolds largely, though not exclusively, from her point of view and highlights her inherent ability to take advantage of a woman's natural strength. This initial title—very well written, edited and presented—will introduce you to a world you may find yourself wishing existed. It will certainly leave you ready to discover what lies ahead.
TAH_1 More than 1 year ago
I received this book from goodreads in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you to Alison Morton!   First of all, I wasn't sure what to expect from an alternate world (present time) book.  I was very pleased with the fast pace action and the way Ms. Morton painted a vivid description of this world.  The "Dramatis Personae" (who's who list) at the beginning of the book was helpful at times. The story is about a young woman, Karen Brown (approx 25 yrs), who volunteers as a park officer and works in an office in the Eastern United States.  She saves a man who is being attacked in the park, only to have her good work turned against her.   I thoroughly enjoyed the action, mystery/thriller aspect and the romance. SPOILER: Karen Brown is a victim of the abuse of her government, especially one of the agents, Jeffrey Renschman.  She is kidnapped and abused.  She is timid, scared and a victim.  Over the course of the book, she transforms.  She is whisked away to her mother's homeland. She learns that her maternal grandmother fought in the war in her home country of Roma Nova.  In this country, women are the leaders and very strong. Karen adjusts to her powerful family, using her given name, Carina Mitela.  She feels betrayed by Conrad/Conradus her boyfriend of sorts and begins to truly find who she is meant to be.  She is very empowering and determined.   There were a few things that kept me from giving a 5 star rating.  A main disappointment for me what the amount of emotional drop-off.  When Karen begins her story, I can feel her confusion, fear, and anxiety.  As the character evolves into a stronger woman, she loses some of her emotion and her ability to be relate-able to the reader.  She came up with amazing plans, but I couldn't really understand how she was able to develop this depth and knowledge. At one point Conrad is shocked and had disbelief at how much she has changed.  Karen/Carina/Cara/Pulcheria couldn't understand this, but I could. Jeffrey Renschman is a wonderful "bad guy".  However, he goes beyond bad.  He has a vendetta.  The reader doesn't get enough information to understand his person anger toward Karen until the very end.  I think a few hints along the way would've brought a stronger conclusion. Finally, as Karen evolves, the romance ebbs away.  She still has relationships, but they pale and become more of a fact than a feeling or emotion.  I think she could still be strong and passionate.  However, the book does explain that women in Roma Nova are not dependent on men.  Some use men for to create heirs without love or marriage, so perhaps the point is to show she left her EUS ways and transformed to the Roma Nova culture completely.   The book had a solid conclusion, but there are other books in this series.  I think these will be a fun, action packed adventure, also.
indiebrag More than 1 year ago
We are proud to announce that "INCEPTIO (Roma Nova series)" by Alison Morton is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A quick read!
LFrankel999 More than 1 year ago
I received Inceptio for free from the author through Instafreebie which doesn't require downloaders to review free books. The premise sounded fascinating, but it took me a while to get to Inceptio due to review commitments. We follow the story of a young woman whose mother was a Roma Novan. She was born in the alternate version of the US. As the novel opens she is introduced to us as Karen Brown, but events rapidly change her sense of identity. I admired Karen for her adaptability, resourcefulness and courage. The plot is appropriately fast paced for a thriller with a great deal of action. Morton doesn't linger to provide very many cultural references or explanations. There are Latin terms, but I found it easy to understand them from context. Aside from the setting, the events could be taking place in our 21st century. There may be variant power hierarchies, but I got the impression that this isn't really a world that's very different from our own. Modern technology is ubiquitous and societal problems are similar. I didn't feel that Roma Nova was either a utopia or a dystopia. I enjoyed Inceptio and the evolution of its female protagonist into a strong and capable woman. I expect to continue on her journey in the remainder of the series.
MollyMN More than 1 year ago
Copy given through Goodreads Read it and Reap group in exchange for a review. 3.5 stars I have been exceedingly bored with thrillers lately so this was a refreshing change. I found the alternate Roman timeline to be a quite interesting concept and it added much more to the plot. I liked of the heroine and how she quickly lost her naiveté and let her inner warrior shine through. I also really enjoyed the stand alone quality of the novel. You get the full deal in this book. In the prolog however, the author mentions deliberately not adding too much “history” to the narrative so as not to bog the reader down. Personally I would have preferred a bit more. For me, adding more history and explanation of how this world developed would be akin to world building in a si-fi or fantasy series. I felt particularly lost when trying to imagine her idea of the US. Maybe an appendix that a reader could choose to read? I do look forward to reading more and have added then next installments to my TBR list