Jean Harley Was Here

Jean Harley Was Here

by Heather Taylor-Johnson

Hardcover

$22.49 $24.99 Save 10% Current price is $22.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Overview

Finalist for the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction



For readers of Everything I Never Told You and When I’m Gone, a profoundly moving, heartwarming debut about family, relationships, and what we leave behind.


Jean Harley—wife, mother, lover, dancer—is a shining light in the lives of those who know and love her, full of boundless energy, compassion, and joy. When she's hit by a truck while riding her bicycle and the unthinkable happens, what becomes of the people she leaves behind? Her devoted husband, Stan, is now a single father to their four-year-old son, Orion, who doesn't understand why his mom won't come home. Jean's two best friends, Neddy and Viv, find their relationship unraveling without their third companion. Charley, the ex-con who caused the accident, struggles to reconcile his feelings of elation when the charges against him are dropped with his boundless guilt over knowing he has changed a family forever; while Jean's mother, Pearl, will regret the little girl who left. Gradually, life without Jean goes on, yet her indelible spirit remains.



Told from the alternating perspectives of these and other characters who grieve the same death in vastly different ways, Jean Harley Was Here is a moving, poetic novel about loss, memory, and the lives we touch.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781628729597
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 10/02/2018
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Heather Taylor-Johnson was born in the United States and has lived in Australia since 1999. She is the author of four volumes of verse and a previous novel, published in Australia, called Pursuing Love and Death. She is the editor of Shaping the Fractured Self: Poetry of Chronic Illness and Pain. She lives in Adelaide, Australia, where she is a Fellow at the J. M. Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews