Just Like Fate

Just Like Fate

by Suzanne Young, Cat Patrick

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

One decision changes everything in this Sliding Doors meets Anna and the French Kiss novel that explores split realities of romance and family loyalties, “recommended for fans of Sara Zarr, Elizabeth Scott, and Maureen Johnson (School Library Journal).”

Caroline is at a crossroads.

Her grandmother is sick and, like the rest of her family, Caroline’s been at Gram’s bedside since her stroke. With the pressure building, all Caroline wants to do is escape—both her family and the reality of Gram’s failing health. So when Caroline’s best friend offers to take her to a party one fateful Friday night, she must choose: stay by Gram’s side, or go to the party for a few hours?

The consequences of this one decision will split Caroline’s fate into two separate paths—and she is about to live them both.

Friendships are tested and family drama hits an all-new high as Caroline attempts to rebuild old relationships and even make a few new ones. If she stays, her longtime crush, Joel, might finally notice her, but if she goes, Chris, the charming college boy, might prove to be everything she’s ever wanted.

Though there are two distinct ways for her fate to unfold, there is only one happy ending…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781442472723
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication date: 08/05/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 994,681
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile: HL730L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Suzanne Young is the New York Times bestselling author of The Program series. Originally from Utica, New York, Suzanne moved to Arizona to pursue her dream of not freezing to death. She is a novelist and an English teacher, but not always in that order. Suzanne is also the author of Girls with Sharp Sticks, All in Pieces, Hotel for the Lost, and several others novels for teens. Visit her online at AuthorSuzanneYoung.com or follow her on Instagram at @AuthorSuzanneYoung.

Cat Patrick is an author of books for teens, including Forgotten, Revived, and Just Like Fate. She lives in the Seattle area with her husband and twin preschoolers, and is afraid of heights, planes, and zombies. Friend her on Facebook or follow her on Twitter at @SeeCatWrite.

Read an Excerpt

Tavis Smiley is currently the host of the late-night television talk show Tavis Smiley on PBS, as well as The Tavis Smiley Show from Public Radio International (PRI). He is also the founder of the nonprofit Tavis Smiley Foundation, which has undertaken a $3-million, four-year campaign called "ENDING POVERTY: America’s Silent Spaces" in order to alleviate endemic poverty in America. TIME magazine named Smiley to its list of "The World’s 100 Most Influential People," and he has been honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Just Like Fate 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
TaylorKnight More than 1 year ago
If you're thinking of picking up Just Like Fate, there is one thing you MUST know before you open the book. By chapter three, the chapters go from "Stay" to "Go". Two mildly different stories. Early in the book, the main character, Caroline, has to choose between staying with her dying grandmother or going to a party with her best friend. And that, ladies and gentlemen, I got massively confused. The chapters show the paths that both decisions will take Caroline. If she goes or stays. I didn't know that and I was confused for the first 33% of this book. Moving on! Just Like Fate is a surprisingly deep story of how how one decision can change your life in many ways and how, in the end, it will all work out. The main character, Caroline, is pretty cool. I didn't find her annoying at all and at times I really, really liked her. She was relatable. I didn't like Joel at all. I didn't really have a reason other then just a feeling at first but then has the book went on, I really didn't like him. Natalie was so unnecessarily horrible. I feel like the writers made her so evil and mean and just horrible (sometimes I felt like crying because she was so mean)that it made her unbelievable as a character. Now, one character was... I have no words for how much I loved him. And that character is Chris and I'm telling you right now if I had to pick one book character to spend my life with in real life, I would pick Chris. Thank you Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young for bring Chris Drake into my life. Okay, but seriously, Chris is really great. He's believable and nice and kind and funny and he's not controlling or brooding. He's great. And I felt like this book had really believable characters. When you read Just Like Fate, you'll pick your favorite chapters. I loved the "Go" chapters. And up until the end, I kinda skimmed the "Stay" chapters. I hate Joel and I love Chris so made picking which chapters to read to the fullest really easy. Overall, I felt like Just Like Fate was a really cool concept, great characters, and exciting. I really enjoyed it.
terferj More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I liked Caroline. I could relate to her. I saw a lot of things that she did is something I would do. Sure she made mistakes but that's the beauty of this story. This books takes her into two different alternative lifelines depending on one crucial decision involving her grandmother. She makes one choice and it takes her on the path where there was Chris. He was witty and just seemed like he's the sweetest (I was partial to him ♥). The other one included Joel. He's artsy and keeps to himself until their relationship evolves. She had a crush on him forever but I personally didn't care for him much. I liked that no matter what lifeline she was in, fate had a way of coming to a similar end. I also like that each lifeline focuses on different members of her family and how her relationship builds with them. It's just a great book everyone should read!
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Caroline has been at Gram's bedside since her stroke--just like the rest of her family. The only problem is that Caroline's closest family is Gram. She barely knows her mother and she can't speak to her older sister without it turning into a fight. Caroline wants to be there for Gram the way Gram has always been there for her. But she also wants desperately to get away for a little while. Just one night. When her best friend invites Caroline to a party she has to decide if she should stay with Gram or go to the party. Both paths will lead Caroline down different roads with very different results. One might bring closure and one might bring something unexpected. But only one is the right choice in Just Like Fate (2013) by Suzanne Young and Cat Patrick. Just Like Fate is part of a spate of recent books featuring alternate universes and parallel lives. Unfortunately unlike other books this one doesn't have any science basis (or even a magical one) for Caroline's living two lives. It's not an ability or an artifact. It seems to just be a thing that happens. While the story is still interesting, alternating between "Stay" and "Go" chapters, it was never quite as compelling as my current favorite alternate universe book Pivot Point. Although we meet them at a low point it was nice that Caroline had a non-traditional family in Just Like Fate as well as supportive friends. There are two endearing male leads. And Caroline is an approachable heroine even if you might not agree with all of her choices. The main problem with this book for me personally (and possibly for other readers) is that Caroline's grandmother is dying in the wake of cancer and a stroke. My aunt died suddenly from a stroke this fall. I thought enough time had passed to be able to read this book. Then I started to hyperventilate and tear up when the aftermath of the grandmother's stroke was described. While I'm sure Just Like Fate is delightful for other readers and will appeal to anyone who likes the idea of living two different choices, my personal experiences made this book a very difficult read. Possible Pairings: If I Stay by Gayle Forman, Parallel by Lauren Miller, Fair Coin by E. C. Myers, The Shadow Society by Marie Rutkoski, Pivot Point by Kasie West *This book was acquired for review from the publisher at BEA 2013*
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I haven’t pick up a book that carries a somewhat supernatural plot line. When I read this synopsis, I was immediately intrigued. Plot: This is a story that showcases two different paths. Though the main character is unaware of it, the reader is. It kind of reminds me of the choose your own adventure stories but only this time you get two stories at once. The chapters switch back and forth. One chapter would be one decision she made and the next chapter is the what if she choose something different. Both authors did a great job in letting each chapter flow well to the next without confusing the reader. Love: In both paths, Caroline mets two guys. Though one may seem right for her, as I read on I was starting to see that maybe the guy I thought would work for her doesn’t. I strongly believe in fate and the choices we make. I believe all choices leads up to where we are today but I do think that no matter what choices you make, some things are meant to be. Ending: The ending of the book is precise and clean. I think the way it all came together in the end is well done. I have to say that I’m impressed with the way it was written and how it concluded. Overall, this is a great book. I like that the reader can see two different paths yet fate does take some control. An inventive yet creative read, Just Like Fate is great!