×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Just One Night
     

Just One Night

3.6 27
by Gayle Forman
 

From the international bestselling author of If I Stay. Now a major film starring Chloe Grace Moretz.

Everything will happen in just one night . . .

After spending one life-changing day in Paris with laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter, sheltered American good girl Allyson “Lulu” Healey discovered her new lover had disappeared

Overview

From the international bestselling author of If I Stay. Now a major film starring Chloe Grace Moretz.

Everything will happen in just one night . . .

After spending one life-changing day in Paris with laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter, sheltered American good girl Allyson “Lulu” Healey discovered her new lover had disappeared without a trace.

Just One Day followed Allyson’s quest to reunite with Willem; Just One Year chronicled the pair’s year apart from Willem’s perspective. Now, back together at last, this delectable e-novella reveals the couple’s final chapter. Perfect for fans of John Green and David Levithan.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
07/01/2014
Gr 9 Up—Forman adds the final puzzle piece to Allyson and Willem's happily-ever-after in this euphoric e-novella connecting Just One Day and Just One Year (both Dutton, 2013). After spending one life-altering day in Paris with free spirit and charming Shakespearean actor Willem De Ruiter, homebody American good girl Allyson "Lulu" Healey was separated from her Dutch fling and spent the first volume trying to locate him, while ultimately finding herself. In the second book, readers are given Willem's perspective of that same year. In this slim digital volume, the pair first makes tentative steps toward each other, as they slowly fill in the gaps for each other and anxious readers. Is Willem the philanderer that Allyson suspects he is? Did their brief, but magical day mean as much to her as it did to him? As much a comedy of errors as an exhilarating romance, misunderstandings are unraveled, new and old characters are introduced, and twists of fate are wholeheartedly embraced. Fans will devour this enthralling epilogue to the duology. Familiarity with the previous titles is a must; recommend this series to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith, and Elizabeth Eulberg.—Shelley Diaz, School Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780698184893
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
05/29/2014
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
40
Sales rank:
46,387
Lexile:
HL640L (what's this?)
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Read an Excerpt

Not because it is fumbling or awkward. Not because she doesn’t know where to put her hand, or he doesn’t know where to put his nose. None of those. They slot together like puzzle pieces. As Allyson and Willem kiss for the first time in a year, both are thinking the same thing:This feels new.

Though perhaps thinking is not the right term, because with a kiss like this, thinking goes out the window and something more instinctual takes over: inner voices, gut instincts. “Knowing it in your kishkes” is how Willem’s saba would’ve described it.

In his kishkes, Willem is marveling that Allyson found him, as Yael found Bram. He doesn’t know how it happened, only that it did happen and that it means something.

Allyson is doing a mental fist pump and an I told you so. She’d spent a year looking for him, looking for the girl she was with him. And then last night, watching Willem perform Orlando in Vondelpark, she’d been certain she’d found them both, certain the words he was speaking were meant for her. Forever and a day. She’d felt it. Right in her gut. But listening to that inner voice was new to Allyson. She’d spent nineteen years of her life ignoring it, listening to pretty much everything but it. So when she’d seen Willem with another woman, looking luminously happy with another woman, she’d gone away.

Only not really. Because here she is, at his flat, where he is kissing her, and she is kissing him right back. And the kiss feels like something completely new. But it also feels like something deeply known. Which would seem to be a contradiction. Only it’s not. The truth and its opposite are flip sides of the same coin, Saba always said.

• • •

Nothing goes on forever. Not even second first kisses. Not even those as hard-won as this. Outside the window, a tram bell chimes. It is like an alarm clock, crystallizing the moment from fuzzy to real. Allyson and Willem break apart.

Allyson isn’t quite sure what to do next. She is supposed to be catching a flight to Croatia. This stop at Willem’s flat was a detour, the kiss a happy surprise. But now what?

Willem takes her backpack, as if answering the question, as if completing the transaction. Then he offers her a coffee.

He would like to kick himself. This girl he has not seen in a year, this girl he’s thought about, dreamed about, looked for, for a year, this girl he just kissed (he’s still a bit dazed from that kiss) . . . and his first words to her are those of a waiter.

But then he remembers something. “Or a tea. You like tea, don’t you?”

It is the smallest thing. She likes tea. She drank tea on the train to London, when they’d first started talking, about hagelslag of all things. She drank it again on the train they’d taken to Paris together, later that morning.

Tea. One day. A year ago. He remembered.

A little voice in Allyson’s gut (it’s her kishkes, only she doesn’t know that word yet) is yelling: See?

“Yes,” Allyson says. “I would love some tea.” She’s not really thirsty. Five minutes ago, nerves had left her with a mouth as dry as paper, but the kiss has taken care of that. But this feels like more than a beverage being offered.

“Tea,” Willem says. He can see that the offer has unfastened something in her face, as when she’d jokingly solicited a compliment from him last year, and he’d told her she was brave and generous and openhearted. Back then he’d been guessing. Now he is remembering. He remembers it all. He wants to tell her. He will tell her.

But first, tea.

Willem starts toward the kitchen. Allyson isn’t sure whether to follow him, but then he turns around and says, “Wait here,” and then a few steps later adds, “Don’t go anywhere.”

She sits down on the low leather couch. It is a nice apartment, all bright and sunny and modern. Does he live here? She hasn’t thought about where he might live. About him living anywhere. When she’d met him, he’d lived out of a backpack.

In the kitchen, Willem tries to collect himself as he makes drinks. (He watches the kettle; the adage is true, it refuses to boil.) He digs through the cabinets for the tea that he recalls his uncle Daniel saying he kept for Fabiola, his soon-to-be wife, the soon-to-be mother of his child, whom he is now with in Brazil. Willem makes himself a coffee—using the instant because it is faster and it has already taken too long for the water to boil.

He puts it all on a tray and returns to the lounge. Allyson is sitting on the sofa, her sandals off, neatly placed under the coffee table. (The sight of her bare feet. What this is doing to Willem’s blood pressure. She might as well have taken off all her clothes.)

Meet the Author

GAYLE FORMAN is an award-winning author and journalist whose articles have appeared in numerous publications, including Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Elle in the US. She lives in Brooklyn with her family.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Just One Night 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is only 38 page in this book not trying to be rude about this author but this book shouldt have been published
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book.... I couldn't wait for it to come out, but finally reading it was a big let-down. I agree with the person who said it was almost like fanfiction; seems insulting, but its sadly true. You'd be better off leaving their reunion to the imagination, its probably better in your head anyways.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Should have stopped at Just One Year and left their relationship to the reader's imagination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't quite describe what I disliked... It didn't FEEL like the other books did. It felt like it was written by someone else. Fanfiction almost. (But that's too much of an insult to the author, so I won't go that far).
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great ending to a beautiful story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is what I was expecting from the second book. I'm glad Gayle wrote this little thing because my heart is now happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent way to finish out the book. Thank you for the writing this novella to wrap things up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was great uust maybe more on how they live after they move back to america
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I plowed through Just One Day and Just One Year, so I was looking forward to reading this next one. However, I've just started reading, and I'm already wishing I hadn't paid the whopping $.99. I dislike the perspective that Forman takes in this one; telling it as though someone is watching Willem and Allyson interact, rather than from one (or switching between the two) point of view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this series of books its my favorite series
diggie1 More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed it, wish it was longer or included in Just One Year. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After two wonderful book about Lulu and Willem this is what she writes!? It's pathetic to say the least . I love Gayle Forman as an author but this was NOT anything I expected
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
will this book be published? I read the first two to the series. I have read this yet. Thats why I was wondering if it will be published? I loved the first two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I keep getting locked out babe :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrea17 More than 1 year ago
All. The. Feels. While I admit that I was a little bummed Just One Year ended at the same place Just One Day ended, this novella is the perfect ending to Allyson and Willem's story. Watching these two characters spend time together after searching for each other was simply grin worthy. I loved the first few pages where they just sat wrapped up in each other while catching the other up on the last year. It was simply adorable when Willem went into the kitchen to make tea and told Allyson to "stay here. Don't move" as if she would vanish all over again. Some of my favorite moments are when Willem's friends realize that Allyson is Lulu. Especially Broodje who immediately adopts Allyson as a friend and Dee who is beyond thrilled for his best friend. Gayle knows how to end a series and this ending is not only perfect, but beautiful. If you haven't read Just One Day or Just One Year yet, I suggest you get on it. Not only because those stories on their own are wonderful, but you need to experience the magic of this ending to fully appreciate the wonder that is Gayle Forman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only thing wrongbwith this book is that it was so short. I wanted to read more about what the future would be and what stories they would tell each other. This was a perfect way to end the AMAZING series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
40 PAGES THATS IT. THIS CAN BE SHOULD AN ONGOING STORY TOO SHORT. THE STORY WAS DEFINITELY VERY GOOD I ENJOYED READING IT AND FALLING IN LOVE WITH THEIR LOVE STORY 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She walks in.