Keeper of the Keys

Keeper of the Keys

by Perri O'Shaughnessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

From the New York Times bestselling author of Nina Reilly Series comes KEEPER OF THE KEYS, a superb standalone thriller that will keep you turning pages into the dark of night...
For single-mindedly ambitious, but troubled architect Ray Jackson, a nightmare begins one muggy California night when his wife, Leigh, disappears. There's no ransom note, no messages, no body--nobody knows if Leigh is dead or alive.

Suddenly, when a strange woman--Kathleen, an old friend of his wife--shows up, demanding answers from Ray, he starts feeling defensive. Ray wants the truth too, but his questions seem off to Kat. Suspected by both his wife's friend and the police, Ray knows he must unravel the mystery before he's all but tried and convicted. Using a collection of keys that he's had since he was a boy--keys to all the homes that he and his mother used to live in, Ray searches each house, hoping to unlock the secrets of his childhood. When past and present crash up against each other, a terrifying mystery begins to unravel...

Ray faces the most excruciating choice of his life--face up to his own violent history in order to prevent another heinous murder, or stay quiet and live with what will come...

"O'Shaugnessy is masterful!" –#1 New York Times bestseller, Brad Thor

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158957055
Publisher: NYLA
Publication date: 01/24/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 239,073
File size: 370 KB

About the Author

Perri O'Shaughnessy is the pen name of Mary and Pamela O'Shaughnessy, sisters who live in California and Hawaii, respectively. They have written eleven legal suspense novels in the tradition of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Lisa Scottolini, which feature Nina Reilly, a Lake Tahoe criminal law attorney. They have also written a book of short stories, Sinister Shorts. Keeper of the Keys is their first standalone suspense novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Keeper of the Keys 2.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Who's got a secret? According to author Perri O`Shaughnessy we all have secrets. And, at times, these are not just ordinary secrets such as, a black sheep in the family, credit card debt, or something like that. These secrets can be so dark and hidden so deeply that we are not even aware of them. Such is the case with architect Ray Jackson, protagonist in O'Shaughnessy's latest thriller Keeper of the Keys. Ray's wife, Leigh, has disappeared. He doesn't know where and he doesn't know why. Perhaps most importantly, he doesn't even know whether she is alive or dead. It's strange that he doesn't seem too upset about his missing spouse. Yet, Ray is an odd duck who obsesses about an unhappy childhood and the fact that he and his mother had to move frequently. As an adult and an architect he is now building houses like the ones he lived in as a child. He stays close to his mother, Esme, but she offers very little information about his father or his childhood. She will only say that his father was a difficult man and he deserted them when Ray was two . A dutiful son, Ray goes to her home to have dinner with her once a week, and she frets that he is so persistent about digging into his past. This issue is forced when Leigh disappears and he is confronted by her friend Kathleen, called Kat, who accuses Ray of having something to do with Leigh's disappearance. When the police enter the picture with probing questions he takes a set of keys that he has had since boyhood and revisits the houses he once lived in. What Ray eventually discovers is not at all what he hoped to find.
Carl_Alves on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was not a fan of this novel. It got off to a bad start in the opening chapters because the main character is so unlikeable. From that point forward, I didn't care one way or the other what happened to him. Ray Jackson is a self-absorbed architect, whose wife Leigh leaves him after a fight. There is nothing redeemable about the character, and none of the other characters were well developed. The plot was silly. For some reason, the reader is supposed to believe that Ray kept keys from his childhood houses and is breaking into them to find out the secrets of his past. I suppose the author didn't consider that most people change the locks when they move into a house. And despite Ray's wife cheating on him, everything is fine between them when they reunite. I would not recommend reading this book.Carl Alves - author of Two For Eternity
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JenniferLee54 More than 1 year ago
I miss the regular characters. It seems to me that this book is one that the sisters put together because they followed a formula that worked for them. It is not a bad plot, I did not have any trouble following it. The book, to me, does not have the substance of the other books. Maybe I am just being critical because I was expecting something different. I have all of the books they have written. I try to always have one with me when ever I am going on a trip to either Tahoe or Carmel. It is fun for me to see the places where the characters are actually hanging out. Some of the places are fictional, but I can usually figure out the general area.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
7.5 on a scle of 10..some of their books have been a 10
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed Perri O'Shaughnessy books, except this one,it is so boring, I cant seem to finish it.I can read most books in a few days, but I have been reading this one for over a week. I dont even care how it ends. Its going to take me some time to ever read another one of their books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of the Nina Reilly books. The O'Shaughnessy sisters, however, missed the boat on this one. After about 115 pages, I asked my wife when the story gets moving. She said it doesn't. The story seemed pointless, the characters were not only uninteresting, but unlikeable, and I asked myself if I wanted to continue reading. I didn't. Don't bother.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a lot. It was exactly what I was looking for, something different. Although a little strange it was well worth the read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book lacks a plot,characters and editing. Some of the word usage is laughable! 'Big baby, she thought, smiling to herself, stirring whole milk into the pudding mix in her non-reactive aluminum pot.' This is an indication of the lack of style in this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a TERRIBLE book. It was such a ridiculous plot. I mean,who keeps keys from all of the houses they lived in as a transient child,and then just uses the key to walk in when children are home alone watching t.v. to search for something from their past? The characters were lame and the relationships between them were also just utterly ridiculous. $25 down the drain.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Ray Jackson has withdrawn into himself, spending his nights in the basement reconstructing the places he lived in as a child. There were many of them and his mother never gave him an exploration why they moved so much or when his father left them. His obsession began when his beautiful beloved wife Leigh asked him about having a child. On the night she disappeared, they had a terrible fight and he doesn¿t know if she is ever coming back.------------------- He has the keys to all the places he lived as a child and he gets into some of them finding cassette recordings of a man threatening his mother who won¿t discuss the matter with him. As the days go by and Leigh doesn¿t contact anyone, her parents begin to wonder if he did something to her and they report it to the police. When they question him, he lies to them, not telling them about the affair she had with his partner. Kat a former friend of Leigh¿s wants to make peace with her and helps Jackson look for Leigh even if Kat isn¿t sure her husband is telling her the truth. When Ray finally leans the truth, he has a terrible decision to make one that could either destroy him or be the making of him.------------------ This is the first stand alone book apart from the Nina Reilly legal thrillers that this author team wrote and it is a superb work of suspense. Readers don¿t know if Leigh is alive or dead, whether Ray killed her or caused her disappearance. Ray is an average man, content to coast along until Kat gives him the impetus to find out what happened to Leigh. KEEPER OF THE KEYS is a tour de force with a shocking climax that will take readers by surprise.---------------- Harriet Klausner