Kingdom of Olives and Ash: Writers Confront the Occupation

Kingdom of Olives and Ash: Writers Confront the Occupation

by Michael Chabon, Ayelet Waldman


$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15


A groundbreaking collection of essays by celebrated international writers bears witness to the human cost of fifty years of Israeli occupation of the West Bank and Gaza.

In Kingdom of Olives and Ash, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman, two of today's most renowned novelists and essayists, have teamed up with the Israeli NGO Breaking the Silence—an organization comprised of former Israeli soldiers who served in the occupied territories and saw firsthand the injustice there—and a host of illustrious writers to tell the stories of the people on the ground in the contested territories.

Kingdom of Olives and Ash includes contributions from several of today’s most esteemed storytellers including: Colum McCann, Jacqueline Woodson, Colm Toibin, Geraldine Brooks, Dave Eggers, Hari Kunzru, Raja Shehadeh, Mario Vargas Llosa and Assaf Gavron, as well as from editors Chabon and Waldman. Through these incisive, perceptive, and poignant essays, readers will gain unique insight into the narratives behind the litany of grim destruction broadcasted nightly on the news, as well as deeper understanding of the conflict as experienced by the people who live in the occupied territories. Together, these stories stand witness to the human cost of the occupation.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062431783
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/30/2017
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 234,098
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Michael Chabon is the bestselling and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Moonglow and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, among many others. He lives in Berkeley, California with his wife, the novelist Ayelet Waldman, and their children.

Ayelet Waldman is the author of, among other books, the memoir A Really Good Day and the novel Love & Treasure. She is the editor of the anthology Inside This Place Not of It: Narratives from Women's Prisons



Berkeley, California

Date of Birth:

May 24, 1963

Place of Birth:

Washington, D.C.


B.A., University of Pittsburgh; M.F.A., University of California at Irvine

Table of Contents

Introduction Ayelet Waldman Michael Chabon vii

The Dovekeeper Geraldine Brooks 1

One's Own People Jacqueline Woodson 13

Bloated Time and the Death of Meaning Ala Hlehel 19

Giant in a Cage Michael Chabon 29

The Land in Winter Madeleine Thien 55

Mr. Nice Guy Rachel Kushner 73

Sami Raja Shehadeh 87

Occupied Words Lars Saabye Christensen 101

Prison Visit Dave Eggers 117

Sumud Emily Raboteau 159

Journey to the West Bank Mario Vargas Llosa 179

Playing for Palestine Assaf Gavron 191

Love in the Time of Qalandiya Taiye Selasi 209

Imagining Jericho Colm Tóibín 225

The End of Reasons Eimear McBride 247

High Places Hari Kunzru 257

Storyland Lorraine Adams 273

The Separation Wall Helon Habila 293

A Hundred Children Eva Menasse 309

Visible, Invisible: Two Worlds Anita Desai 321

Hip-Hop Is Not Dead Porochista Khakpour 327

Occupation's Untold Story Fida Jiryis 337

An Unsuitable Place for Clowns Arnon Grunberg 353

Justice, Justice You Shall Pursue Ayelet Waldman 371

Two Stories, So Many Stories Colum Mccann 389

H2 Maylis de Kerangal 405

Afterword 419

Acknowledgments 423

Contributors 425

Permissions 433

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews