Leaving Alexandria: A Memoir of Faith and Doubt

Leaving Alexandria: A Memoir of Faith and Doubt

by Richard Holloway

Paperback(Main - Canons)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


At the tender age of fourteen, Richard Holloway left his home town of Alexandria, north of Glasgow, and travelled hundreds of miles to be educated and trained for the priesthood at an English monastery. By the age of twenty-five he had been ordained and was working in the slums of Glasgow. Through the forty years that followed, Richard touched the lives of many people as he rose to one of the highest positions in the Anglican Church. But behind his confident public faith lay a restless heart and an inquisitive mind.

Poignant, wise, and fiercely honest, Leaving Alexandria is a remarkable memoir of a life defined by faith but plagued by doubt.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786898913
Publisher: Canongate Books
Publication date: 10/27/2020
Series: Canons
Edition description: Main - Canons
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Richard Holloway was Bishop of Edinburgh and Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church. A former Gresham Professor of Divinity and Chairman of the Joint Board of the Scottish Arts Council and Scottish Screen, he is a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. Leaving Alexandria won the PEN/Ackerley Prize and was shortlisted for the Orwell Prize. Holloway has written for many newspapers in Britain, including The Times, Guardian, Observer, Herald, and Scotsman. He has also presented many series for BBC television and radio; Waiting for the Last Bus originated as a five-part series on Radio 4 in 2016.

Table of Contents

Prologue: The Graveyard

I 1940-56

1 Carman Hill 23

2 Place of Sacrifice 46

3 The Fall 63

4 The Side Door 79

II 1958-67

5 Tenements 101

6 Angel of the Gorbals 115

7 Broadway 131

8 The Absence 149

III 1968-84

9 Thirty-Three Steps 173

10 Coming Through 198

11 A Double-Minded Man 226

12 Boston Common 247

IV 1986-2000

13 New Cloth 269

14 Drifting 292

15 Leaving Alexandria 311

Epilogue: Scald Law 341

Customer Reviews