Life on Mars

Life on Mars

by Jennifer Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99 $6.39 Save 6% Current price is $5.99, Original price is $6.39. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Twelve-year-old Arcturus Betelgeuse Chambers comes from a family of stargazers and his quest to find life on other planets is unstoppable.

But when Arty's family announces they're moving to Las Vegas, the City of Lights threatens to put an end to his stargazing dreams forever-especially when he has to stay with his scary next door neighbor while his parents look for a house. As it turns out, “Mr. Death” isn't terrifying at all-he's actually Cash Maddox, a bonafide astronaut! But when Cash falls ill, will Arty find the courage to complete his mission by himself? And might he actually prove, once and for all, that there is life on Mars?

For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce's Cosmic and Jack Gantos's Dead End in Norvelt comes a heartwarming story of true friendship-earthly or otherwise.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619632530
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 08/05/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
File size: 3 MB
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

JENNIFER BROWN is the author of the highly-acclaimed YA novel Hate List, as well as Bitter End, Perfect Escape, and Thousand Words. She lives with her family in Kansas City, Missouri.

@JenBrownBooks
www.jenniferbrownauthor.com
Jennifer Brown is the author of the middle-grade novels How Lunchbox Jones Saved Me from Robots, Traitors, and Missy the Cruel and Life on Mars, a 2015 CCBC Best-of-the-Year Pick. She's also the author of the highly-acclaimed YA novels Hate List, Bitter End, Perfect Escape, Thousand Words, and Torn Away. She lives with her family in Kansas City, Missouri.

www.jenniferbrownauthor.com
@JenBrownBooks

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Life on Mars 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
mandymarie20 More than 1 year ago
Artey Betelgeuse is obsessed with space. His family always has been. His father is an astronomer and everyone in his family is named after stars. Artey is even determined to contact Mars through light by signaling them nightly for the past two years. But his life gets turned upside down when his father loses his job and the family must move to Las Vegas. This is like death to an astronomer. The bright lights would ruin any view of the stars. Another wrench gets thrown into the works when he is thrust on a crabby old neighbor next door whom Artey is convinced is a zombie or alien. But when Artey finds old his neighbor's secret, Artey finds a friend, mentor, and lifeline. This book was touching in a surprising way. When I think of a science obsessed kid's book, I don't often think of a book with such heart. While I am not entirely convinced the author was able to inhabit the voice of Artey - especially when reading the 'Fun Facts About Mars' - I enjoyed the book. I think it is the perfect addition to a school library. Boys and girls would love the characters in this book. I can see a lot of applications when using the book in the classroom - Astronomy, Mars, space, Morse Code, Samuel Morse himself, etc. with the obvious application being to build your own HUEY (Artey's transmitter to Mars) and/or testing it out. I would love to see what students come up with!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brown delivers a fun, informative book that is also heartwarming and poignant. It is especially appealing to boys, with its bodily function humor and its disdain for shallow teenage “girliness”. Brown maintains a perfect dichotomy between boyhood humor of zombies eating faces off and dealing with the loss of friends. Young teens are treated to a book that is chockfull of information on outer space, Mars, and stars, but all the while keeping it light and fun. Making learning fun is what makes this book excellent. Doing that, while teaching us something deeper about our humanity and our resolve, makes this book exceptional.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm an adult who follows the author's YA books, so when I heard about this, I knew I had to read it! It's no surprise that Jennifer brings her same talents to middle-grade. This had me laughing on one page and crying on the next. I have a nephew who's the perfect age for this book (bonus, he loves space) and I'll definitely be sharing this with him.  Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago