Little Bookshop of Murder: A Beach Reads Mystery

Little Bookshop of Murder: A Beach Reads Mystery

by Maggie Blackburn
Little Bookshop of Murder: A Beach Reads Mystery

Little Bookshop of Murder: A Beach Reads Mystery

by Maggie Blackburn

Hardcover

$26.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, March 5
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A Shakespearean scholar inherits her mother’s romance bookstore—and a puzzling mystery—in this delightful cozy mystery series for fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams.

Summer Merriweather’s career as a Shakespeare professor hangs by a bookbinder’s thread. Academic life at her Virginia university is a viper’s pit, so Summer spends her summer in England, researching a scholarly paper that, with any luck, will finally get her published, impress the Dean, and save her job. But her English idyll ends when her mother, Hildy, shuffles off her mortal coil from an apparent heart attack.

Returning to Brigid’s Island, North Carolina, for the funeral, Summer is impatient to settle the estate, sell Beach Reads—her mom’s embarrassingly romance-themed bookstore—and go home. But as she drops by Beach Reads, Summer finds threatening notes addressed to Hildy: “Sell the bookstore or die.”

Clearly, something is rotten on Brigid’s Island. What method is behind the madness? Was Hildy murdered? The police insist there’s not enough evidence to launch a murder investigation. Instead, Summer and her Aunt Agatha screw their courage to the sticking place and start sleuthing, with the help of Hildy’s beloved book club. But there are more suspects on Brigid’s Island than are dreamt of in the Bard’s darkest philosophizing. And if Summer can’t find the villain, the town will be littered with a Shakespearean tragedy’s worth of corpses—including her own.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643854380
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 09/08/2020
Series: A Beach Reads Mystery , #1
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 1,156,465
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Maggie Blackburn is the author of the Cora Crafts mysteries and the Cumberland Creek mysteries under another pen name. Her books have been selected as finalists for an Agatha Award and a Daphne du Maurier Award and as a Top 10 Beach Reads by Woman's World. She has also been short-listed for the Virginia Library People's Choice Award. She is the mother of two young women who are off following their dreams in the music business. She currently lives in Waynesboro, VA, and works at the University of Virginia as a development associate.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews