Little Bookshop of Murder: A Beach Reads Mystery

Little Bookshop of Murder: A Beach Reads Mystery

by Maggie Blackburn

Hardcover

$26.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 1

Overview

A Shakespearean scholar inherits a beachside bookshop—and a murder mystery—in this delightful new cozy series for fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams.

Summer Merriweather's career as a Shakespeare professor hangs by a bookbinder's thread. Academic life at her Virginia university is a viper's pit, so Summer spends her summer in England, researching a scholarly paper that, with any luck, will finally get her published, impress the Dean, and save her job. But her English idyll ends when her mother, Hildy, shuffles off her mortal coil from an apparent heart attack.

Returning to Brigid's Island, NC, for the funeral, Summer is impatient to settle the estate, sell her mom's embarrassingly romance-themed bookstore, Beach Reads, and go home. But as she drops by Beach Reads, Summer finds threatening notes addressed to Hildy: "Sell the bookstore or die."

Clearly, something is rotten on Brigid's Island. What method is behind the madness? Was Hildy murdered? The police insist there's not enough evidence to launch a murder investigation. Instead, Summer and her Aunt Agatha screw their courage to the sticking place and start sleuthing, with the help of Hildy's beloved book club. But there are more suspects on Brigid's Island than are dreamt of in the Bard's darkest philosophizing. And if Summer can't find the villain, the town will be littered with a Shakespearean tragedy's worth of corpses—including her own.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643854380
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 09/08/2020
Series: A Beach Reads Mystery , #1
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 238,547
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Maggie Blackburn is the author of the Cora Crafts mysteries and the Cumberland Creek mysteries under another pen name. Her books have been selected as finalists for an Agatha Award and a Daphne du Maurier Award and as Top 10 Beach Reads by Woman's World. The mother of two young women who are off following their dreams in the music business, she resides in Waynesboro, Virginia.

Christa Lewis is a classically trained actress who graduated from Boston University. She got her start in voice acting at the international television station DW-TV, and she has been a regular on hundreds of cartoons, museum guides, documentaries, and commercials. Now a full-time audiobook narrator with over sixty titles to her credit, she has been featured in AudioFile Magazine, has earned multiple Earphones Awards, and is an Audible bestselling narrator. She lives in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews