Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward

Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward

Hardcover

$39.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

The finest photographic account of Jewish life in America.


This extraordinary volume features classic photographs of the history one has learned to associate with the Forward—Lower East Side pushcarts, Yiddish theater, labor rallies—along with gems no one would expect. The premiere national Jewish newspaper has opened up its never-before-seen archives, revealing a photographic landscape of Jews in the twentieth century and beyond. From shtetl beauty contests and matchmakers caught mid-deal to the streets of the New World; from diaspora communities and mandate Palestine to the Holocaust, the Soviet Jewry movement, and the emergence of Jewish suburbia; from Paul Muni and Barbra Streisand to Woody Allen and Madonna—this book is a kaleidoscopic array of modern Jewish life. Original essays are included by leading intellectuals and historians, including Leon Wieseltier, J. Hoberman, Roger Kahn, and Deborah E. Lipstadt, plus an introduction by Pete Hamill. A great gift book in the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World and Frederic Brenner's Diaspora: Homelands in Exile.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393062694
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 04/23/2007
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 9.50(w) x 12.40(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Alana Newhouse is the Arts & Culture editor at the Forward. She lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews