Lonesome Animals

Lonesome Animals

by Bruce Holbert

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Lonesome Animals by Bruce Holbert


Russell Strawl is called out of retirement to hunt a serial killer who has been leaving elaborately carved bodies of Native Americans across three counties. Strawl’s own dark and violent history weaves itself into the hunt, shedding light on the remains of his broken family, which in turn leads him to the identity of the killer.

In the vein of True Grit and Blood Meridian, Lonesome Animals is a western novel reinvented, a detective story inverted for the west. It is also about one man’s urgent, elegiac search for justice amidst the craven acts committed on the edges of civilization.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619021563
Publisher: Counterpoint Press
Publication date: 05/14/2013
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,177,512
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author


Bruce Holbert is a graduate of the University of Iowa Writers Workshop. His work has appeared in The Iowa Review, Hotel Amerika, Other Voices, The Antioch Review, Crab Creek Review, The West Wind Review, and Cairn. Bruce Holbert grew up at the foot of the Okanogan Mountains. His great-grandfather was an Indian scout and among the first settlers of the Grand Coulee.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lonesome Animals 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
GingerM65 More than 1 year ago
One of the best books that I have read in a long time. Gruesome in places but fits the story. Writing is spectacular. You feel like you know all of the characters personally. Would not recommend to all of my friends but for a select few, yes, you will be glad that you have read this book.