Miles on the Rail

Miles on the Rail

by Grievous AngelsGrievous Angels




The Grievous Angels' third album finds them playing their own hard-driving brand of country-rock on nine original tracks and two covers. Instrumentally, the music is driven by the chugging beat of Jesus Navarro's snare drum and a mix of acoustic and electric guitars. But the real instrumental genius is Jon Rauhouse, whose steel guitar, mandolin, and banjo flourishes add spice to the Angels' musical concoction. The lead vocals of Earl C. Whitehead (aka Russell Sepulveda) are not particularly remarkable, but fit the frenzied pace of much of the band's music well. Listening to this album, one realizes that Grievous must be a great barroom band. Their music is brisk and entertaining -- in short, easy to dance to. Little of the songwriting carries much weight, but maybe that's the point. Part of the purpose of music is escapism, and Grievous provides that on this album with its fun, upbeat style.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/08/1998
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302003825
catalogNumber: 20038


  1. Seven Engines
  2. Might Be You
  3. Help Yourself
  4. Hell Gets A Broken Soul
  5. Cold Cold Ground
  6. No More Room in Hell
  7. Don't Think I Will
  8. Ten Feet Away
  9. Sin Away
  10. Dumb Love
  11. Long Gone Lonesome Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews