Montpelier Tomorrow

Montpelier Tomorrow

by Marylee MacDonald
Montpelier Tomorrow

Montpelier Tomorrow

by Marylee MacDonald

eBook

$6.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"An affecting, deeply honest novel; at the same time, a lacerating indictment of our modern health care system."—KIRKUS REVIEWS 

 

A mid-life mom, Colleen Gallagher would do anything to protect her children from harm. When her daughter's husband falls ill with ALS, Colleen rolls up her sleeves and moves in, juggling the multiple roles of grandma, cook, and caregiver, only to discover that even her superhuman efforts can't fix what's wrong.


Montpelier Tomorrow is a novel that defies stereotypes and poses tough questions as one family struggles against a vicious disease and broken health care system. Will Colleen and her family pull together and weather the storm? Or will they shatter under the pressure of overwhelming odds?


If you like page-turning novels with flawed but admirable characters, discover the redemptive power of a mother's love and read Montpelier Tomorrow today.

 


Winner of the Gold Medal for Drama from Readers' Favorites International Book Awards

 

 

"Montpelier Tomorrow is an exceptional read. A mix of sadness and humor, it is indeed a story that should be read many times."
 —US REVIEW OF BOOKS

 

"...characters are vivid, relatable, and all too perfectly human."
  —JEWELL PARKER RHODES, author of Magic City and Sugar

 

"...an engrossing account of the impossible choices faced by caregivers."
 —KATHERINE SHONK, author of The Red Passport and Happy Now?

 

"Each time I have reread this novel, I have felt rewarded by the connection it offers to the central character, Colleen. I can think of no single page in which her voice is not an irreplaceable gift to the reader."
—KEVIN MCILVOY, author of The Fifth Station and Little Peg

 

"Written for fans of Chris Bohjalian, Jodi Picoult, and Neil Gaiman, Montpelier Tomorrow is a masterpiece of fiction."
—A READER LIKE YOU


Product Details

BN ID: 2940167050006
Publisher: Grand Canyon Press
Publication date: 03/14/2023
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: eBook
File size: 863 KB

About the Author

Marylee MacDonald is the author of Bonds of Love & Blood, Montpelier Tomorrow, and The Rug Bazaar. She has taught at the Piper Center for Creative Writing at Arizona State University, and been Writer-in-Residence for the City of Mesa Public Library.

Her fiction has won the Barry Hannah Prize, the ALR Fiction Award, the Ron Rash Award, the Jeanne Leiby Memorial Chapbook Award, the Matt Clark Prize, a Gold Medal for Drama from the Readers’ Favorites International Book Awards, and an Illinois Arts Council Fellowship for Fiction. Her work has appeared in the American Literary Review, Bellevue Literary Review, Blue Moon Literary & Art Review, Broad River Review, The Chattahoochee Review, Folio, Four Quarters, NEW SUN RISING: Stories for Japan, North Atlantic Review, Raven Chronicles, Reunion, River Oak Review, ROLL, Ruminate, StoryQuarterly, Superstition Review, The Briar Cliff Review, Yalobusha Review, and others. She lives in Tempe, AZ.

If you enjoy her books, please post a review on Amazon.com, Goodreads, and your favorite social media sites.

Thank you!

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews