Moving and Resting in God's Desire: A Spirituality of Peace

Moving and Resting in God's Desire: A Spirituality of Peace

by Andrew Marr

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.49 $9.99 Save 15% Current price is $8.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


There is a great increase in quests for peace in our time, and for good reason. Violence seems also to be on the increase, intensifying the need to understand violence and find peaceful alternatives. Most distressing is the violence inspired by religion although each of these religions teach peace. The odd thing about all this is that most people claim they believe in peace and want peace, and peace is the very thing that eludes us much of the time. Why do we fail to get what we want?

With the help of the Gospel, René Girard’s insights, and soundings in the fundamental practices of Christian spirituality, Moving and Resting in God’s Desire: A Spirituality of Peace examines how human desires are shared among us in complicated ways. Special attention is paid to ways shared desires lead to violence and how we can  overcome it by allowing ourselves to be strengthened by God’s desire as shown us in the Forgiving Victim who rose from the dead. A powerful path towards spiritual renewal.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780986248535
Publisher: St. Gregory's Abbey
Publication date: 05/02/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 342
File size: 525 KB

Table of Contents

Introduction - Chapter 1: Nailed to the Cross - Chapter 2: Desiring through the Other - Chapter 3: Reading Mimetic Desire - Chapter 4: Blessings and the Word - Chapter 5: A Word from Above - Chapter 6: The Body of Christ - Chapter 7: The Five Kinds of Prayer - Chapter 8: Liturgical Creatures - Chapter 9: Clothed with Christ and Eating Christ - Chapter 10: The Human Self, God, and Grace - Chapter 11: Essential Habits of the Heart: Respect and Humility - Chapter 12: Forgiveness: An Ongoing Process - Chapter 13: Faith, Hope, and Love - Chapter 14: Contemplative Dwelling in God's Desire Chapter 15: Where We End Up

Customer Reviews