Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens (Wrexford & Sloane Series #5)

Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens (Wrexford & Sloane Series #5)

by Andrea Penrose
Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens (Wrexford & Sloane Series #5)

Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens (Wrexford & Sloane Series #5)

by Andrea Penrose

eBook

$9.99 $14.41 Save 31% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $14.41. You Save 31%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The latest novel in bestselling author Andrea Penrose’s popular Regency-set Wrexford & Sloane historical mystery series is a brilliant blend of intrigue and romance, complete with the excitement of an upcoming wedding—and the inconvenience of a murder. Perfect for fans of Amanda Quick, Tasha Alexander, and Deanna Raybourn.
 
One advantage of being caught up in a whirl of dress fittings and decisions about flower arrangements and breakfast menus is that Charlotte Sloane has little time for any pre-wedding qualms. Her love for Wrexford isn’t in question. But will being a wife—and a Countess—make it difficult for her to maintain her independence—not to mention, her secret identity as famed satirical artist A.J. Quill?
 
Despite those concerns, there are soon even more urgent matters to attend to during Charlotte and Wrexford’s first public outing as an engaged couple. At a symposium at the Royal Botanic Gardens, a visiting botanist suffers a fatal collapse. The traces of white powder near his mouth reveal the dark truth—he was murdered. Drawn into the investigation, Charlotte and the Earl learn of the victim’s involvement in a momentous medical discovery. With fame and immense fortune at stake, there’s no shortage of suspects, including some whose ruthlessness is already known. But neither Charlotte nor her husband-to-be can realize how close the danger is about to get—or to what lengths this villain is prepared to go . . .
 
Praise for the Wrexford & Sloane Historical Mysteries
 
“Penrose deftly combines a Regency romance with a tricky mystery that delves into social unrest and the darker side of this storied period.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Its complex story line and authentic historical details bring the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life. Bound to fascinate readers of C.S. Harris and even fans of Victorian mysteries.” —Library Journal,Starred Review


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496732521
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 09/28/2021
Series: Wrexford & Sloane Series , #5
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 11,284
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Andrea Penrose is the USA Today bestselling author of Regency-era historical fiction, including the acclaimed Wrexford & Sloane mystery series, as well as Regency romances written under the names Cara Elliott and Andrea Pickens. Published internationally in ten languages, she is a three-time RITA Award finalist and the recipient of numerous writing awards, including two Daphne Du Maurier Awards for Historical Mystery and two Gold Leaf Awards. A graduate of Yale University with a B.A. in Art and an M.F.A. in Graphic Design, Andrea fell in love with Regency England after reading Pride and Prejudice and has maintained a fascination with the era’s swirling silks and radical new ideas throughout her writing career. She lives in Connecticut and blogs with a community of historical fiction authors at WordWenches.com. She also can be found at AndreaPenrose.com and on Instagram @AndreaPenroseBooks.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items