Murder in Mayfair: An Atlas Catesby Mystery

Murder in Mayfair: An Atlas Catesby Mystery

by D. M. Quincy

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Murder in Mayfair: An Atlas Catesby Mystery by D. M. Quincy

Atlas Catesby is a brilliant adventurer and young aristocrat in Regency-era London—and the perfect new hero for fans of Charles Finch and C. S. Harris—in this enchanting mystery series debut from D. M. Quincy.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683314592
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication date: 01/09/2018
Series: Atlas Catesby Series , #1
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 174,126
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

D. M. Quincy is an award-winning journalist who—after covering many unsolved murders—decided to conceive her own stories in which a brilliant amateur detective always gets the bad guy (or girl). As a US Foreign Service brat, D. M. was bitten by the travel bug practically at birth, and like her protagonist Atlas Catesby, tries to visit far-flung places as often as she can. When she isn’t hunched over her laptop researching ways for her villains to kill people, D. M. devours foreign television mystery series on Netflix and plots her next travel adventure. She lives in Virginia with her family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder in Mayfair: An Atlas Catesby Mystery 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave this book 4 stars...although 4.5 is more accurate. A fun, entertaining mystery with engaging characters that I thoroughly enjoyed. I don't normally read historical fiction from the Regency time period so I enjoyed the tidbits of history that the author gave us. I believe this book is the first of a new series...I look forward to more adventures for Atlas, Lilliana, Thea and Charlton.
charleneC More than 1 year ago
I loved this well written interesting and intriguing book! Lots of twists and turns. Atlas and Lilliana are complex characters One of my favorite characters is Charlton. This book had mystery and romance. Imagine, selling your wife! Very vile man indeed! I cannot wait for the next book!
Missisue4 More than 1 year ago
What do you do if you are enjoying a meal when you hear a commotion outside where a woman is being auctioned off by her husband ? If you are a gentlemen like Atlas Catesby, you venture outside. And if you are truly a gentlemen, you purchase the woman so that you can insure that she will be protected. After Atlas saves the woman from her cruel husband he takes her to his sister's home until he can get to know her and figure out the best way to help her. But before he can do that, things get worse. The woman that he rescued Lilliana Warwick has 2 young sons and her husband Godfrey refuses to allow her to see them. And before anything can be worked out Godfrey is found dead in the apartment above his store....and it is ruled murder. Atlas takes it upon himself to investigate Godfrey's death in order to clear Lilliana's name as well as his own. Unfortunately as he investigates, the suspect list grows in numbers and the clues lead Atlas to secrets in Lilliana's past as well as Godfrey's family. Murder in Mayfair has more turns that a country back road. D. M. Quincy keeps the reader on their toes and their eyes on the pages. Luckily there isn't a speed limit when reading...there would surely be tickets for speed written. I truly loved the twists and turns throughout the story and cannot wait for more books in the series.
jiskett More than 1 year ago
"Murder in Mayfair" is a well-constructed, interesting murder mystery, but I was particularly interested in the representation of the Regency time. The author based her story on the practice that a man could sell his wife, which seems to be outrageous from today's point of view and is also an action that the protagonist condemns, but it was still permissible. But the the time period is also otherwise authentically represented; many small details have been woven into the story, which enriches it and makes it more realistic. Even though the reader is most likely not in agreement with all the views that the characters hold, they are nevertheless comprehensible and believable for their background and time period. The author has succeeded in making sure that the reader is emotionally invested. One suffers with Lilliana, can understand Atlas' desire to help her and finds the husband, the later victim, detestable. I must say that his death could not really move me; Because of his character it was also not surprising that there were a lot of people who hated him and had a sufficient motive for the murder - including, of course, the protagonist and Lilliana, which makes the whole situation precarious. Atlas' investigations were therefore very interesting and although some connections were evident early on, there are convincing false leads and surprising twists so that the story is not predictable and gripping. The resolution was plausible and fit the plot; The potential for further cases is definitely there, and the complex personal relationships can also provide a lot of material for more books, so I am curious about the second volume.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Did you know that in England in the past a husband and wife would dissolve their marriage through the sale of the wife to another – a sale that took place publically – and perhaps acted in place of a divorce? With women being “owned” by their husbands, divorces considered expensive and disgraceful, and often not sanctioned by the government or church - a sale was one way out. At the beginning of this story Atlas Catesby, fourth son of a Baron, finds himself buying such a woman to save her from rather despicable men. With the deed of sale for Lilliana Warwick in his “possession” he headed back to London, housed her with his sister Thea and tried to find an amicable way for Lilliana to have access to her sons since her husband refused to let her near them. From that point on a few more people are introduced, a number of incidents occur, Lilliana’s husband ends up dead, the solving of the mystery of how the husband died is worked on and the second mystery of Lilliana’s true identity is dealt with. There is some romance between Atlas and Lilliana but there is no real HEA or HFN conclusion for the couple by the end of this book. They could spend time together in book two (my guess) or not see one another ever again. Hmm… What I liked: * Catesby’s strength of character * Lilliana’s love for her children * The plot sequence * The supporting characters (want to see some of them in future books) * The interaction of Catesby with Lilliana’s sons, new valet and his friend Gabriel * Thea, Catesby’s sister * Charlton, Catesby’s friend * The fact that I feel this book ended well and without a cliffhanger and yet leads me to want to read the next book in the series. What I did not like: * Perhaps it was not in true keeping with the times of the early 1800’s – in more ways than one – though this did not detract from the overall story. Thank you to NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for the ARC – This is my honest review.