Neverland

Neverland

by Douglas Clegg

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Neverland by Douglas Clegg

New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg blends dark suspense and gothic horror in Neverland, a novel of deadly secrets and innocence corrupted.

What lurks within the shack called Neverland? What kinds of dangerous -- and deadly -- games do the children play there?

For years, the Jackson family vacationed at their matriarch's old Victorian house on Gull Island, a place of superstition and legend off the southern coast of the U.S. One particular summer, young Beau follows his cousin Sumter into a shack hidden among the brambles and windswept trees near bluffs overlooking the sea.

The rundown shack called Neverland is the key to an age-old mystery, a place forbidden to all. Who calls to the children from within its walls?

For fans of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Peter Straub and Thomas Tryon

"Neverland is a masterpiece of dark suspense that will forever haunt your dreams." - Douglas Preston, New York Times Bestselling Author of Impact and (with Lincoln Child) of Relic and Gideon's Corpse.

"Douglas Clegg's Neverland is an unforgettable novel that combines creeping horror and psychological suspense. It starts like a bullet and never slows down." - David Morrell, New York Times Bestselling Author of Murder as a Fine Art.

"This is a powerful and thrilling tale, Douglas Clegg's best novel yet. The novel builds in whispers and ends in a scream. You will never forget Neverland." - F. Paul Wilson, New York Times Bestselling Author of Nightworld and the Repairman Jack series.

"From start to finish, Neverland is a haunting and tragic masterpiece. A powerful, thrilling tale, Douglas Clegg tells Beau and Sumner's incredible story with a subtle blend of humor and sadness that resonates with the reader long after the novel ends." - Marjorie M. Liu, New York Times Bestselling Author.

"A brilliant novel that grows richer with each reading, a multilayered marvel that will one day be recognized as one of the classics of supernatural literature." - Bentley Little, Bestselling Author of The Influence and The Haunted.

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." - Dean Koontz, New York Times Bestselling Author of Odd Thomas and Innocence.

"Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills. Neverland is Clegg at his best." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times Bestselling Author of Girl Missing and the Rizzoli & Isles series of novels.

"Douglas Clegg . . . could have hung out with (in a better world) Robert R. McCammon, Bentley Little and Stephen King. These are guys who know America, and know how to literally scare up the best and worst aspects of the American character and slap them into a ripping yarn full of monsters, terror and enough action to keep the pages turning late into the night." - Rick Kleffel, book commentator for NPR

"Combing elements of H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, southern gothic, and adolescent angst, Douglas Clegg subsumes us in horror with Neverland, a tale so chilling it infected my dreams. Clegg builds horror in rich detailed layers. It is a testament to Clegg's gifts that we can't turn away; scary though the trip may be, the fright reaches out from the pages and pulls us along...Neverland is scary stuff, the product of a skilled writer of horror, and best read with the lights on." - San Francisco Book Reviews

"I can tell you without hesitation that Neverland is a true gothic masterpiece. I am incredibly impressed with it. This is a remarkable piece of literature."- Scott A. Johnson, Dread Central.com

"Neverland is a scary work written by an author soaring to the top of his game." - The Merry Genre Go Round Review.

"Neverland delivers . . . delicious slow horror... I'm an instant fan." - Sci-Fi Saturday Night.

"Clegg (The Vampyricon) crafts a haunting story redolent with the influence of Arthur Machen, H.P. Lovecraft, and other classic horror writers. His credible rendering of the internal lives of children and their imaginations give this flight of dark fancy a firm and frightening foothold in reality."- Publishers Weekly.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149754076
Publisher: Alkemara Press
Publication date: 06/25/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 484,819
File size: 541 KB

About the Author

Douglas Clegg is the New York Times bestselling author of Isis, The Priest of Blood, Afterlife, and The Hour Before Dark, among other novels. His short story collection, The Machinery of Night, won a Shocker Award, and his first collection, The Nightmare Chronicles, won both the Bram Stoker Award and the International Horror Guild Award.

Date of Birth:

April 1, 1958

Place of Birth:

Alexandria, Virginia

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Neverland 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read several of this author's novels and NEVERLAND has definitely been the best so far. I never once was bored and stayed way past my bedtime several nights reading this story. Very hard to put down. I enjoyed the character development, the realism of the dysfunctional family, and the paranormal aspect included. Highly recommended!! ~ DO ~
Robert Messick More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful with a great story. I found myself really looking forward to reading it each day!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took a while for the details to come together. I didn't hate it, but it wasn't very gripping. I loved the main character. I just wish it didn't feel like the first hundred pages were so idle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorites
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some genuinely creepy moments. Well worth a read.
SteveDeg More than 1 year ago
haunting tale of children on vacation with their parent to grandmas house in Georgia. While the parents spend their time drinking and arguing, the children find their entertainment in an old gardeners shack. Filled with tales from the past, little Sumter grabs his cousins attention with tales of Neverland, a place where grownups aren't allowed. Playing along with Sumter's stories, his cousins are drawn into a world of false gods and ghosts. The author creates Sumter as one creepy kid. Grandma with her secret journal of her haunted past, add to this tale of horrific ghosts hungering to be set free. Coming of age tale, as Robert McCammon's "Boys Life" and Stephen King"s It. A good all around read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge horror fan. I haven't read a book this good in ages. I couldn't put it down, stayed up past midnight reading, yet didn't want it to end. I did wake up from a screaming nightmare last night...but isn't that evidence of its excellence?
DTChantel More than 1 year ago
Dark and Compelling.... a true Masterpiece!  Douglas Clegg is one of the best writers around. Although he's usually classified or viewed as horro, his writing is so unique and evocative that it's hard not to get drawn into his stories, no matter what he writes. He is a true master of the gothic novel, by which I mean gothic as written by authors such as Horace Walpole, Mary Shelley, Ann Radcliffe and Edgar Allan Poe. In "Neverland," he beautifully portrays the carefree summer days of childhood and no one can do this quite like he can. But underlying it all is a menacing sense of dread and gloom, quite like real childhood, when the things you don't understand and the obscure symbols of the night, can overshadow the sunniest and happiest of days. With a unique and compelling voice, Doug Clegg draws you into the story and the lives of Beau and Sumter, as inevitably as a dream from which you can't awake. This is dark suspense at its finest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago